Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals

America: History and Life
Includes scholarly reviews of books in American History. You can limit your search to book reviews by using the Document Type field.

Historical Abstracts
Does not include field called book reviews. But does include "review articles," which usually review several books in the same subject area.

JSTOR
JSTOR includes full text of journal articles (including book reviews) in selected core journals. To search for a reviewed title:
In the Basic Search Box, Type:
rt:"name of reviewed title"
Example:
rt:"moral man and immoral society"

Web of Science
Web of Science indexes scholarly journal articles (including book reviews) in many subject fields. For most history books, reviews are likely to appear in either Social Sciences or the Arts and Humanities sections. This selection can be made at bottom of the initial page.
Choose Advanced Search.
In the box, type: ts="name of reviewed title"
Under Restrict Results (at bottom) choose Book Review

H-Net Reviews
Source of online scholarly book reviews - reviews often appear in this site before you see reviews in scholarly journals.


Book Reviews in Early Scholarly Journals

Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities Journals, 1802-1974
D. H. Hill Ref. AI3 .C62 (Learning Commons)
Use for finding book reviews in humanities journals that predate the standard electronic indexes.

Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals, 1886-1974.
D. H. Hill Ref. Z1035 .A1 C64 (Learning Commons)
Use for finding book reviews in scholarly journals that predate the standard electronic indexes.


Book Reviews in Popular Publications

Academic Search Complete
Use to find current book reviews in selected popular and scholarly periodicals. Note Book Review is one of the Documents Types under Limit Your Results.

Book Review Digest
D. H. Hill Ref. Z1219 .B66 (Learning Commons)
Use to find book reviews in more popular (rather than scholarly) periodicals. Index goes back to 1905. Short summaries of reviews are provided.

Book Review Index
D. H. Hill Lib. Z1035 .A1 B55 (D.H. Hill Bookstacks)
Provides indexing to reviews in popular periodicals from 1985 to the present. More comprehensive than Book Review Digest, but does not provide summaries.