Newspaper Databases

Find newspaper articles in Summon

Find newspaper articles in other databases

Newspaper Source Plus (EbscoHost, via NCLive)

Time Coverage: Varies by newspaper, usually going back to the 1990s. Full text coverage for selected national, international, and regional newspapers, as well as transcripts from other news sources. Includes New York Times, Chicago Tribune, USA Today, Washington Post, San Francisco Chronicle, and others.

LexisNexis Academic

Use the 'Search The News' portion of LexisNexis Academic

US Newsstream

Full-text access to major U.S. newspapers (including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Los Angeles Times, The Boston Globe, The Guardian, The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post and many others) from 1997 to the present.

Newspapers Titles at NCSU Libraries

Find Specific Newspapers (ex: chronicle of higher education)

Quick Lists of NCSU Newspapers on Microfilm at NCSU Libraries

Microfilm Newspapers By Region

Microfilm Newspapers By Title

North Carolina Newspapers

News and Observer

This guide will explain options for research using the N&O

North Carolina Newspapers at NCSU Libraries

Catalog search for N.C. Newspapers at NCSU Libraries (mostly microfilm)

North Carolina Newspaper Locator

Microfilm housed at the Government & Heritage Library, State Library of North Carolina

North Carolina Digitization Project

Selected early N.C. newspapers dating from 1752-1890s

Current Newspapers

Library PressDisplay

Designed for browsing selected current national and international newspapers in full-page, color image format. Articles are displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title.

Historical Newspapers

New York Times (via Proquest Historical Newspapers)

Time coverage: 1851 until about 5 years ago. Provides full text access to the New York Times.

Los Angeles Times (via Proquest Historical Newspapers)

Time coverage: 1881-1987.

Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876)

Extensive collection of colonial and early republic newspapers.

Burney Collection, 17th - 18th Century Newspapers

The Burney Newspapers are predominantly London newspapers of the 17th and 18th centuries. The titles range in date from 1603 to the early 1800s.

Accessible Archives

Selected major 18th and 19th century newspapers

News and Observer

This guide will explain options for research using the N&O

Quick Lists of newspapers on microfilm at NCSU Libraries

Microfilm Newspapers By Region

Microfilm Newspapers By Title

International Newspapers

LexisNexis Academic

Use the 'Search The News' portion of LexisNexis Academic

World News Connection

Translated and English-language news and information from East and North Asia, Near and Middle East, and South Asia

Contact Information for U.S. Newspapers

Newspaper Data Book