Documentation & Citation
The following guides and resources are listed by style, profession, or type of material being cited.
Jump to: Multiple Styles | Citation Management Software | AAA | ACS | AIP
AMA--Management | AMA--Medical | AMS | APA | APS | APSA | ASA
ASA-CSSA-SSSA | ASABE | ASCE | ASM | CBE | Chicago/Turabian
Government Documents | IEEE | Legal Citations | Maps | MLA | Newspapers | NLM
Online Resources
Multiple Styles and Formats
Print Resources
- The Manual of Scientific Style: A Guide for Authors, Editors, and Researchers -- Hunt Library Stacks T11 .M3385 2009
- Cite Them Right: The Essential Referencing Guide -- D. H. Hill, Jr. Library Stacks: PN171 .F56 P43 2010
- Making Sense: A Student’s Guide to Research and Writing -- D. H. Hill, Jr. Stacks: LB2369 .N67 2012
- The Wadsworth Guide to Research -- D. H. Hill, Jr. Reference Stacks: LB2369 .M55 2011
- McGraw-Hill's Concise Guide to Writing Research Papers --D.H.Hill, Jr. Stacks LB2369 .E35 2010
Online Resources
- Citation Builder (NCSU)--APA, MLA, CBE/CSE
- Citation Style for Research Papers (Long Island University)--APA, Turabian, MLA, Chicago, and AMA
- Citing References in Your Paper (University of Wisconsin-Madison)--APSA, APA, Chicago/Turabian, CBE, MLA
- The Owl At Purdue (Purdue University)--APA and MLA
Citation Management Software
Print Resources
- EndNote: Bibliographies and Now Manuscripts Made Easy -- D. H. Hill, Jr. Stacks; Z1001 .E53 2002
Online Resources
- EndNote Guide (NC State University)
- RefWorks (free for NC State University students, staff, and faculty)
- RefWorks FAQ (NC State University)
- Mendely (free)
- Zotero (free, open source)
AAA (American Anthropological Association)
Online Resources
- American Anthropologist Style Guide (AAA)
- Citation Style: Anthropology (Prescott College)
ACS (American Chemical Society)
Print Resources
- The ACS Style Guide: Effective Communication of Scientific Information -- D. H. Hill, Jr. Reference Stacks: QD8.5 A25 2006
Online Resources
- ACS Style Guidelines ( University of Wisconsin, Madison)
- Reference Style Guidelines (ACS)
AIP (American Institute of Physics)
Print Resources
- AIP Style Manual -- D. H. Hill, Jr. Reference Stacks: QC5.45 .A45 1990
Online Resources
- AIP Author Resource Center (AIP)
- American Institute of Physics (AIP) Style Examples(broken link) (Monash University)
AMA (American Management Association)
Print Resources
- The Business Writer's Handbook -- D. H. Hill, Jr. Stacks: HF5726 .B874 2000
Online Resources
- AMA Handbook of Business Writing -- [e-book available through the NC State University Libraries' Catalog]
- AMA Style Guide for Business Writing -- [e-book available through the NC State University Libraries' Catalog]
AMA (American Medical Association)
Print Resources
- American Medical Association Manual of Style: A Guide for Authors and Editors -- Veterinary Medicine Library Reference: R119 .A533 2007
Online Resources
- AMA Style Guide (University of Washington)
AMS (American Meteorological Society)
Online Resources
- Authors' Guide (AMS)
APA (American Psychological Association)
Print Resources
- Cite Right: A Quick Guide to Citation Styles--MLA, APA, Chicago, the Sciences, Professions, and More -- D. H. Hill, Jr. Stacks: PN171 .F56 L55 2011
- Writing for Psychology -- D. H. Hill, Jr. Stacks BF76.7 .M58 2013
- The Wadsworth Guide to Research -- D. H. Hill, Jr. Reference Stacks: LB2369 .M55 2011
- Concise Rules of APA Style – D. H. Hill, Jr. Reference Stacks: BF76.7 .C66 2005
- Mastering APA Style: Student’s Workbook and Training Guide -- D. H. Hill, Jr. Stacks: BF76.8 .G452 2002
- Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association -- D. H. Hill, Jr. Reference Stacks: BF76.7 P83 2001
Online Resources
- APA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue University)
- Citation Builder (NC State University)
- Electronic References (APA)
APS (American Physical Society)
Online Resources
APSA (American Political Science Association)
Online Resources
- APSA Documentation (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
- Citing Print Sources: The Style Manual for Political Science (University of Washington)
ASA (American Sociological Association)
Print Resources
- ASA Style Guide -- D. H. Hill, Jr. Reference Stacks: HM569 .A54 2007
Online Resources
- ASA Format(broken link) (California State University, Los Angeles)
- ASA Citation Style (broken link)(Trinity University)
- ASA Style (Buffalo State University)
- Formatting in Sociology: ASA Style (Purdue University)
ASA-CSSA-SSSA (Agronomy, Crop Science, Soil Science)
Online Resources
- SSSA Quick Guide (Washington State University)
- Publications Handbook and Style Manual (Alliance of Crop, Soil, and Environmental Science Societies)
ASABE (American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers)
formerly the ASAE (Society for Engineering in Agricultural, Food, and Biological Systems)
Online Resources
- Guide for Authors(broken link) (ASABE)
ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers)
Online Resources
- Authors' Guide (ASCE)
- Standards Writing Manual for ASCE Standards Committee (ASCE)
- ASCE Citation Guide(broken link) (University of Cincinnati)
ASM (American Society for Microbiology)
Print Resources
- ASM Style Manual for Journals and Books -- D. H. Hill, Jr. Reference Stacks: QR11 .A44 1991
Online Resouces
CBE (Council of Biology Editors) or CSE (Council of Science Editors)
Print Resources
- Scientific Style and Format: the CSE manual for authors, editors, and publishers Style Manual Committee, Council of Science Editors -- D. H. Hill, Jr. Library Stacks and Veterinary Medicine Library Stacks: T11 .S386 2006
Online Resources
- CBE Citation Guide(broken link) (University of North Carolina)
- CBE Documentation University of Wisconsin-Madison )
- Citation Builder (NC State University)
Chicago Manual of Style/Turabian
Print Resources
- The Chicago Manual of Style -- D. H. Hill, Jr. Reference Stacks: Z253 .U69 2003
- A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers, Kate L. Turabian -- D. H. Hill, Jr. Stacks: LB2369 .T8 2007
- A Student's Guide to Writing College Papers --D. H. Hill, Jr. Stacks LB2369 .T8 2010
Online Resources
- Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide (The Chicago Manual of Style Online)
- Chicago/Turabian Documentation (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
- Sample Bibliography Page (University of North Carolina)
Government Documents
Print Resources
- The Complete Guide to Citing Government Information Resources -- D. H. Hill, Jr. Reference Stacks: J9.5. C48 2002
Online Resources
- Citing Government Publications (Columbia University)
- Citing US Government Publications (Indiana University)
- Citing Records in the National Archives (National Archives and Records Administration)
- DocsCite (Arizona State University)
(IEEE) Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
Print Resources
- Writing and Speaking in the Technology Professions: A Practical Guide -- D. H. Hill, Jr. Stacks: T11 .W75 2003
- Making Sense: A Student's Guide to Research and Writing: Engineering and Technical Sciences --D. H. Hill, Jr. Stacks T11 .N67 2009
Online Resources
- 2014 IEEE Standards Style Manual (IEEE)
- IEEE Documentation Style (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Legal Citations
Print Resources
- Bieber's Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations Reversed -- D. H. Hill, Jr. Reference Stacks: K89 .K37 1994
- Bieber's Dictionary of Legal Citations -- D. H. Hill, Jr. Reference Stacks: KF246 .P73 1997
- The Bluebook, a Uniform System of Citation -- D. H. Hill, Jr. Reference Stacks: KF245 U55 2005
- Citation and Style Manual -- D. H. Hill, Jr. Stacks: J 1.8/2:C 49/3/997 (government document)
Online Resources
- Introduction to Basic Legal Citations (Peter W. Martin, Cornell University)
Maps
Online Resources
- Citing Maps (NC State University)
- Citing Maps (Ohio Wesleyan University)
- Historical Maps: Citing Maps (Penn State University)
Print Resources
- Cartographic Citations: A Style Guide -- Natural Resources Library Stacks Z6021 .C55 2010
(MLA) Modern Language Association
Print Resources
- MLA Handbook -- D. H. Hill, Jr. Reference Stacks: LB2369 .G53 2016
Online Resources
- Citation Builder (NC State University)
- MLA Formatting and Style Guide (Purdue University)
Newspaper Style Guides
Print Resources
- Associated Press Stylebook 2015 and Briefing on Media Law -- D. H. Hill, Jr. Textbook Collection: PN4783 .A83 2016
- Stylebook and Briefing on Media Law --D. H. Hill, Jr. Stacks: PN4783 .A83 2004
Online Resources
- AP Style Guide (Purdue University)
- New York Times Manual of Style and Usage (NC State University ebook)
NLM (National Library of Medicine)
Print Resources
- National Library of Medicine Recommended Formats for Bibliographic Citation -- D. H. Hill, Jr. Reference Stacks: Z695.1 .M48 P37 1991
Online Resources
- NLM Style Guide (University of Washington)
- National Library of Medicine Recommended Formats for Bibliographic Citation (NC State University ebook)
- Citing Medicine: the NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers (NC State University online resource)
Online Resources
Print Resources
- Columbia Guide to Online Style -- D. H. Hill, Jr. Reference Stacks: PN171 .F56 W35 1998
- Electronic Styles: A Handbook for Citing Electronic Information -- D. H. Hill, Jr. Reference Stacks: PN171 .F56 L5 1996
Online Resources
- Documenting Electronic Sources (Purdue University)