Indexes and Databases: Government Information Research Guide
Indexes and Databases: U.S. Documents
You can use the library's catalog to find government information from 1999 to the present, and selectively for some materials with earlier dates. The indexes below will also guide you to citations for useful resources.
Online - General
- Thomas: Legislative information from the Library of Congress
- FirstGov - a web portal to government web sites
- GPO Access - a collection of databases and searchable fulltext information from all branches of the federal government, maintained by the Government Printing Office (GPO).
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications - for government publications from 1976 on.
- PAIS International - Public Affairs Information Service - 1972 to present. Policy related materials.
- ProQuest Congressional - index to hearings, reports and other documents produced by the Senate and the House of Representatives
- Sources for the Congressional Record, Free and Online
- Google U.S. Government Search - search only government documents and websites
Online - Scientific and Technical Information
- DOE Information Bridge - Fulltext Department of Energy research, mostly 1995 to present.
- Energy Citations Index - Dept. of Energy research, 1948 to present.
- NEPIS - National Environmental Publications Information System.
- NTIS - 1990 to present. National Technical Information Service. A clearinghouse of government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information.
- NTIS - 1964 to present. See above.
- NTRS - NASA Technical Reports Server.
- PubMed - 1950 to present. From the National Library of Medicine, indexes biomedical articles.
- Science.gov - gateway to selected scientific information from federal government agencies.
Online - Patents and Trademarks
Online - Other
- ADAMS - U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission. 1999 to present.
- Air University Index to Military Periodicals
- Lexis Nexis Government Periodicals Index (NCSU only)
- NARA AAD - National Archives & Records Administration Access to Archival Databases
- TRID - Transportation Research International Documentation. 1960 to present.
Print indexes to federal government information are mostly located in the Reference section of the U.S. Depository Collection, on the 2nd floor of D. H. Hill Library. In addition to general indexes covering all branches of government, most agencies have produced bibliographies and indexes from time to time. If you need help finding a specific type of index, please ask a librarian for help.
Databases List - Also try commercial indexes and databases for the subject or discipline of your research topic to locate government information.