34 collections related to Architecture -- North Carolina
Digital content available
Riddick and Mann
Size: 0.1 linear feet (1 flatfolder) Collection ID: MSS 00397
Cameron Park is a historic neighborhood west of downtown Raleigh. It is one of three Raleigh suburbs that was platted in the early twentieth century; Cameron Park was platted by Riddick and Mann. This collection contains one item, a blueprint plat of the Cameron Park neighborhood. The neighborhood was platted by Riddick and Mann in 1910. Cameron Park is located west of downtown Raleigh.
Branan, C. Frank (Cicero Franklin), 1922-2004
Size: 5.6 linear feet (3 oversized flat boxes, 1 flat box, 2 tubes) Collection ID: MC 00079
The C. Frank Branan Architectural Drawings, 1924-1976, contains architectural drawings created or received by C. Frank Branan. Included are blueprints and tracings. Buildings represented include residences designed by Branan and located in Florida and North Carolina. The collection also contains plans for some buildings designed by ...
MoreThe C. Frank Branan Architectural Drawings, 1924-1976, contains architectural drawings created or received by C. Frank Branan. Included are blueprints and tracings. Buildings represented include residences designed by Branan and located in Florida and North Carolina. The collection also contains plans for some buildings designed by other architects, such Crampton and Deitrick, for whom Branan once worked. While the materials span the time period 1924-1976, most documents date from 1949 to 1968. Also included are architectural drawings of C. Frank Branan's own residence in Raleigh. C. Frank (Cicero Franklin) Branan was born in 1922, and he grew up in Sanford, Florida. He graduated from the University of Florida in 1942. He practiced architecture in Daytona Beach, Florida, before relocating to Raleigh, North Carolina, in 1955 when he joined the architectural firm of William H. Deitrick (later Guy Crampton and Associates). Branan later became consulting architect for the State of North Carolina in the Office of Historic Preservation, retiring in 1990. He passed away in 2004.
Less
Bishir, Catherine W.
Size: 19.5 linear feet (11 archival boxes, 9 archival legal boxes, 1 oversize box, 4 cartons) Collection ID: MC 00616
The Catherine W. Bishir Papers chiefly contain research documentation compiled during the creation of North Carolina Architects and Builders, both for the book and also for the web-based platform, and for other articles and books written by Bishir, including her work on monuments in the American South. Among the files are many ...
MoreThe Catherine W. Bishir Papers chiefly contain research documentation compiled during the creation of North Carolina Architects and Builders, both for the book and also for the web-based platform, and for other articles and books written by Bishir, including her work on monuments in the American South. Among the files are many photographs of buildings and sites, mostly in North Carolina, organized by county. Launched in 2009, North Carolina Architects and Builders is a reference work that contains brief biographical accounts, building lists, and bibliographical information about architects, builders, and other artisans who planned and built North Carolina's architecture. The North Carolina Architects and Builders project website can be found here: http://ncarchitects.lib.ncsu.edu/ Catherine W. Bishir is author or co-author of several prize-winning publications, including North Carolina Architecture; Architects and Builders in North Carolina: A History of the Practice of Building; the three-volume Guides to the Historic Architecture of Eastern, Western, and Piedmont North Carolina; Southern Built: American Architecture, Regional Practice; and, most recently, Crafting Lives: African American Artisans in New Bern, North Carolina, 1770-1900s. From 1971 through 2001 she served as staff member and supervisor for the architectural survey and National Register of Historic Places programs in the North Carolina State Historic Preservation Office. She then served as senior architectural historian with the non-profit organization, Preservation North Carolina. As adjunct professor at North Carolina State University Department of Architecture she taught classes in vernacular architecture and North Carolina architecture. She was Curator of Architecture for Special Collections at North Carolina State University Libraries, where she was instrumental in the web-based North Carolina Architects and Builders: A Biographical Dictionary (ncarchitects.lib.ncsu.edu) and in collecting architectural drawings and other records.
Less
Coffey, John W.
Size: 2 linear feet (2 cartons, 1 box, 1 drawings box, 1 oversized flatfolder) Collection ID: MC 00519
The Coffee Family Collection includes architectural records acquired by the Coffey family through their family association with John W. Coffey & Son, the Raleigh building contracting firm. The firm was founded by John W. Coffey. John W. Coffey, born 1869, founded John W. Coffey and Son, a construction firm that rose to prominence ...
MoreThe Coffee Family Collection includes architectural records acquired by the Coffey family through their family association with John W. Coffey & Son, the Raleigh building contracting firm. The firm was founded by John W. Coffey. John W. Coffey, born 1869, founded John W. Coffey and Son, a construction firm that rose to prominence in Raleigh, NC. He started in the building trade in 1899, when he formed a business partnership with George C. Bonniwell. The partnership ended in 1900 as Bonniwell chose to move elsewhere and he decided to start his own firm. John W. Coffey and Son found success building up the suburbs to the north and west of Raleigh as well as partaking in many commercial projects across the eastern part of the state. John Nelson Coffey (1902-1988) and John Nelson Coffey, Jr. (1929-2015) continued work with the firm.
Less
Digital content available
Matsumoto, George, 1922-, Hill, David
Size: 0.5 linear feet (1 archival box); 3411.4908 megabytes; 51 pages; 5 files Collection ID: MC 00196
The David Hill Oral Histories of George Matsumoto is a collection of oral histories conducted by NC State School of Architecture Dean David Hill with George Matsumoto in 2009. During the oral histories, Matsumoto discusses his early life, living in an internment camp, studying at the Cranbrook Academy of Art, and his architecture and ...
MoreThe David Hill Oral Histories of George Matsumoto is a collection of oral histories conducted by NC State School of Architecture Dean David Hill with George Matsumoto in 2009. During the oral histories, Matsumoto discusses his early life, living in an internment camp, studying at the Cranbrook Academy of Art, and his architecture and teaching career in North Carolina and California. The oral histories discussing Matsumoto’s career in North Carolina and California have been redacted to protect the privacy of the interviewee. George Matsumoto (1922-2016) was a Japanese-American architect and educator who is most known for his award-winning, modernist designs. In 1948, Matsumoto became a faculty member at the School (later College) of Design of North Carolina State College of Agriculture and Engineering (later North Carolina State University). During his tenure at the School of Design, Matsumoto won more than thirty awards for his residential work, and his achievements in design were widely published. At the time of the interview, David Hill, AIA, was an Associate Professor of Architecture and Co-Director of the Coastal Dynamics Design Lab at the NC State University College of Design where he taught full-time since 2007. As of 2017, David Hill is the Dean of the College of Design. While at NC State, Hill has led graduate and undergraduate design studios, digital representation courses, and seminars that focus on integrative digital simulation processes, architectural prototypes, and design strategies for coastal regions.
Less
Moore, David W.W.
Size: 0.5 linear feet (1 box) Collection ID: MC 00746
The David W.W. Moore Collection on the Moses Rountree House collection (1970-2010) consists of four folders that originally in a binder organized by David W.W. Moore. The collection contains photos, newspaper clipppings, hand-written notes, and documents related to the Moses Rountree House. This collection documents the history of ...
MoreThe David W.W. Moore Collection on the Moses Rountree House collection (1970-2010) consists of four folders that originally in a binder organized by David W.W. Moore. The collection contains photos, newspaper clipppings, hand-written notes, and documents related to the Moses Rountree House. This collection documents the history of the Moses Rountree House which was built in 1869 by Oswald Lipscomb. Moses Rountree was one of the most prominent leaders of Wilson society in the nineteenth century. His activities helped to shape the economic, political, physical and the educational environment of the town of Wilson. Rountree was of English descent, and his ancestors came to Nansemond County, Virginia before 1700. Like many Virginians, the Rountree family began to acquire land over the border in North Carolina and by the early eighteenth century the family owned property on the banks of Contentnea Creek in what later became Wilson County. Moses Rountree was the son of Lewis Rountree and Elizabeth Daniel. He was born in 1822 on the family plantation several miles east of the present city of Wilson on what is now Route 264. Rountree was considered one of Wilson's leading nineteenth century merchants. He had several commercial ventures, including the establishment of a merchandise firm and his procurement of properties in Wilson.
Less
Digital content available
Hunter, Edgar H.
Size: 22 linear feet (8 boxes, 13 tubes, 62 oversize folders, 1 oversize presentation board) Collection ID: MC 00245
The Edgar H. and Margaret K. Hunter Architectural Papers contains drawings and job files from the Hunters' work, primarily in New Hampshire and North Carolina, as well as professional and personal photographs and slides. Edgar Hayes "Ted" Hunter Jr. (1914-1995) received A.B. and M.Ed. degrees from Dartmouth College in 1938 and 1950. ...
MoreThe Edgar H. and Margaret K. Hunter Architectural Papers contains drawings and job files from the Hunters' work, primarily in New Hampshire and North Carolina, as well as professional and personal photographs and slides. Edgar Hayes "Ted" Hunter Jr. (1914-1995) received A.B. and M.Ed. degrees from Dartmouth College in 1938 and 1950. He also received B.A. and Master of Architecture degrees from Harvard in 1941 and 1970. At Harvard, Hunter met Margaret "Peg" King (1919-1997), whom he would later marry. Margaret Hunter received a B.A. in Botany at Wheaton College and was a member of the first class of female architects at the Harvard School of Design in 1942. The Hunters practiced in Hanover, New Hampshire, from 1945 to 1966, both teaching at Dartmouth and designing several buildings on the campus. In 1966 they relocated to Raleigh as E.H. and M.K. Hunter AIA. There, the couple continued to design and renovate residential structures as well as commercial buildings, such as the Craft Pavilion at the North Carolina State Fairgrounds, Ridgewood Shopping Center, and North Hills Shopping Center.
Less
Brown, Eugene Wilson, 1938-2023
Size: 2.3 linear feet (1 box, 6 flat folders) Collection ID: MC 00786
Eugene Wilson Brown received degrees in architecture from North Carolina State University and Washington University in St. Louis. He worked in University Planning at North Carolina State University and the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill, served as the Executive Director of the North Carolina Board of Architecture and ...
MoreEugene Wilson Brown received degrees in architecture from North Carolina State University and Washington University in St. Louis. He worked in University Planning at North Carolina State University and the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill, served as the Executive Director of the North Carolina Board of Architecture and established a private practice. This collection includes drawings, research, and correspondence from his time as a student and as a working professional. Newspapers documenting his career, photos of revitilization projects, and prints of paintings by Wilson Brown are also included.
Less
Fenner & Proffit, Inc.
Size: 2 linear feet (5 flatfolders) Collection ID: MC 00515
The architectural drawings and blueprints in this collection were acquired by Fenner and Proffitt, an engineering firm, during the company's various architectural projects in North Carolina. Fenner and Proffitt was an engineering firm located in Wilson, North Carolina. The firm worked on a large number of architectural projects.
Armfield, G. Will (George Williamson), 1849-1927
Size: 0.5 linear feet (1 tube) Collection ID: MSS 00413
The G. Will Armfield Architectural Blueprints for the Harden Thomas Martin House, 1908-1909, consists of seven blueprints of this home. This Greensboro home located on 204 N. Mendenhall Street is a frame, two-and-a-half story Colonial Revival residence with a hip roof. This house was nominated to be on the National Register of ...
MoreThe G. Will Armfield Architectural Blueprints for the Harden Thomas Martin House, 1908-1909, consists of seven blueprints of this home. This Greensboro home located on 204 N. Mendenhall Street is a frame, two-and-a-half story Colonial Revival residence with a hip roof. This house was nominated to be on the National Register of Historic Places. G. Will (George Williamson) Armfield (1849-1927) was a Greensboro architect and contractor who turned to full-time architecture and building in the late 1890s or 1900s. His best known work is the Alumni Hall (1914) at the Oak Ridge Institute in the village of Oak Ridge in Guilford County.
Less
Digital content available
Atwood and Weeks, Inc., Harris & Pyne (Firm)
Size: 5.95 linear feet (6 tubes, 8 flat folders, 1 document case, 1 oversize flat box, 1 flat box, 1 half box) Collection ID: MC 00114
The Harris and Pyne Records contain drawings, project files, photographs, and personal files documenting the professional activities of the Harris and Pyne architectural and engineering firm and its predecessor firms H. Raymond Weeks, Inc., Atwood and Weeks, and Atwood and Nash. The collection is arranged into four series: Drawings, ...
MoreThe Harris and Pyne Records contain drawings, project files, photographs, and personal files documenting the professional activities of the Harris and Pyne architectural and engineering firm and its predecessor firms H. Raymond Weeks, Inc., Atwood and Weeks, and Atwood and Nash. The collection is arranged into four series: Drawings, Project Files, Photographic Materials, and Personal Files. Drawings include original pencil drawings, blueprints, and other reproductions. Project files includes various materials relating to projects, including a scrapbook, newsclippings, a financial recordbook, and supplemental documents to projects. Photographic materials includes professional black and white photographs of projects. Original documentation for many of the buildings and projects of these architecture firms is no longer in existence. Lastly, personal files include certificates, membership cards, biographical notes and obituary notes. Harris and Pyne was an architectural and engineering firm in Durham, North Carolina, from about 1958 to the 1990s, headed by engineer Wilton E. Harris and architect George C. Pyne, Jr. Its predecessor firms were T. C. Atwood (prior to 1920), Atwood & Nash, Architects and Engineers (early 1920s-early 1930s), Atwood & Weeks (1930s-1942), and H. Raymond Weeks, Inc. (1942-1957). Harris and Pyne was organized soon after H. Raymond Weeks' death in 1956. Commissions undertaken by the Harris and Pyne firm and predecessors include residences, churches, and hospitals.
Less
Digital content available
Barton, Harry, 1876-1937
Size: 0.6 linear feet (2 flat file folders) Collection ID: MC 00144
The Harry Barton Architectural Drawings consists of seven blueprint drawings of the S. H. Tomlinson House, located at 403 Hillcrest Drive, High Point, North Carolina. These architectural drawings include floorplans, elevations, and building details, and they date from 1923-1924. Harry Barton was born in 1876 and died in 1937. He was ...
MoreThe Harry Barton Architectural Drawings consists of seven blueprint drawings of the S. H. Tomlinson House, located at 403 Hillcrest Drive, High Point, North Carolina. These architectural drawings include floorplans, elevations, and building details, and they date from 1923-1924. Harry Barton was born in 1876 and died in 1937. He was an important North Carolina architect based in Greensboro. Barton worked in the Tudor Revival style for several residential designs. He also designed many educational and civic buildings in Georgian Revival and Neoclassical styles, including buildings on the campus of the University of North Carolina-Greensboro.
Less
Smith, Owen F., Shumaker, Ross Edward, 1889-1960
Size: 0.6 linear feet (2 flat folders) Collection ID: MC 00093
Contained in these drawings are the original 1941 designs for the house at 2871 Rosedale Avenue in Raleigh and the plans for the 2002 renovation of the building. They were collected by Harvey Charlton, owner of the house in 2008. Harvey J. Charlton has been a professor of mathematics at North Carolina State University. Ross Edward ...
MoreContained in these drawings are the original 1941 designs for the house at 2871 Rosedale Avenue in Raleigh and the plans for the 2002 renovation of the building. They were collected by Harvey Charlton, owner of the house in 2008. Harvey J. Charlton has been a professor of mathematics at North Carolina State University. Ross Edward Shumaker was an architect and a professor at North Carolina State College of Agriculture and Engineering (1920-1955). He began the architecture program there, and he designed several buildings on campus. Owen F. Smith has been an architect based in Raleigh. He designed the award-winning North Carolina Farm Bureau building.
Less
Digital content available
Webb, James M. (James Murray), 1908-2000
Size: 222.5 linear feet (88 document cases, 2 flat boxes, 6 cartons, 6 flat folders, 470 tubes.) Collection ID: MC 00102
The collection contains the business and design records from James M. Webb's architectural firm, as well as his personal papers and some papers of his brother, John B. Webb, and his mother, Martha Webb. The major groupings of records are Project Files, Drawings, Maps, Professional Papers, Personal Papers, Photographs and Slides, ...
MoreThe collection contains the business and design records from James M. Webb's architectural firm, as well as his personal papers and some papers of his brother, John B. Webb, and his mother, Martha Webb. The major groupings of records are Project Files, Drawings, Maps, Professional Papers, Personal Papers, Photographs and Slides, Videos, Artifacts, John B. Webb, and Martha Webb. James Murray Webb was born in 1908 and died in 2000. In 1947, he joined the new City and Regional Planning School at the University of North Carolina (UNC) in Chapel Hill, where he served as a faculty member for thirty years. He and his brother, John Bruce Webb, maintained an architectural practice in Chapel Hill and designed a number of modernist houses and other buildings in the area.
Less
Latimer, John D., 1916-1996
Size: 3.5 linear feet (1 halfbox and 13 tubes) Collection ID: MC 00504
This collection contains Specifications for a Residence, Dr. and Mrs. I. M. Taylor, Chapel Hill, N.C.; a publication titled Portfolio from John D. Latimer and Associates; as well as several architectural drawings of various other buildings. John D. Latimer was an architect in Durham, North Carolina. By the early 1970s, his firm, John ...
MoreThis collection contains Specifications for a Residence, Dr. and Mrs. I. M. Taylor, Chapel Hill, N.C.; a publication titled Portfolio from John D. Latimer and Associates; as well as several architectural drawings of various other buildings. John D. Latimer was an architect in Durham, North Carolina. By the early 1970s, his firm, John D. Latimer and Associates, Inc., also had an office in Taunton, Massachusetts.
Less
Digital content available
Boney, Leslie N., Jr. (Leslie Norwood), 1920-2003
Size: 83.8 linear feet (51 archival boxes, 304 archival flat folders) Collection ID: MC 00096
The Leslie N. Boney Architectural Papers document the work of Wilmington, North Carolina, architects Leslie N. Boney Sr., and Leslie N. Boney Jr. from projects done in conjunction with architect James F. Gause in the 1920s through projects of Boney Architects, Inc., in the 1980s. Educational institution plans make up a significant ...
MoreThe Leslie N. Boney Architectural Papers document the work of Wilmington, North Carolina, architects Leslie N. Boney Sr., and Leslie N. Boney Jr. from projects done in conjunction with architect James F. Gause in the 1920s through projects of Boney Architects, Inc., in the 1980s. Educational institution plans make up a significant portion of the project files in this collection, representing schools from the elementary through university levels. The firm's architectural projects also include churches, banks, residences, offices, libraries, and retail establishments. The vast majority of these buildings are located in North Carolina, especially in the eastern part of the state, though a small number of South Carolina projects are included as well. These project files include correspondence, inspection reports, drawings, blueprints, project specifications, photographs, contracts, and bid data and forms. Personal papers of Leslie N. Boney Sr., make up a small part of this collection, and include copies of textiles, chemistry, and English exams dating from 1901 to 1903, belonging to Leslie N. Boney Sr., C. L. Creech, and O. Max Gardner. A copy of Boney Sr.'s account of the 1901 fire that destroyed NC State University's original Watauga Hall, as printed in the 1903 Agromeck, is also included. North Carolina native Leslie N. Boney Sr. (1880-1964) graduated from the North Carolina College of Agriculture and Mechanic Arts (later North Carolina State University) in 1903 with a degree in textile engineering. Boney joined Wilmington architect James F. Gause as a partner in practice in 1918, then took over the practice in 1922, upon Gause's retirement. Boney's eldest son, Leslie N. Boney Jr. (1920-2003), joined his father's practice after graduating from the College of Engineering at North Carolina State College of Agriculture and Engineering (later North Carolina State University) in 1940 with a Bachelor of Science in Architectural Engineering. Boney Jr. served in the Army Corps of Engineers during World War II, earning the rank of major, and returned to his family's architectural practice following the war. Boney Jr. was a Fellow of the American Institute of Architects, served as president of North Carolina's chapter of the American Institute of Architects, and was a recipient of North Carolina State University's prestigious Watauga Medal in 1996.
Less
Digital content available
Flynn, Ligon B. (Ligon Broadus), 1931-2010
Size: 217.75 linear feet (43 archival cartons, 1 halfbox, 494 flat folders, 24 tubes); 921 kilobytes (1 file) Collection ID: MC 00604
The Ligon Flynn Papers consists of architectural drawings, extensive project files and related architectural records. Notable projects documented in the collection include residences on Figure Eight Island, such as the Jones, Mahan, Bell, Hughes, Ellison, and Monroe houses; as well as the NC State University Student Center annex; ...
MoreThe Ligon Flynn Papers consists of architectural drawings, extensive project files and related architectural records. Notable projects documented in the collection include residences on Figure Eight Island, such as the Jones, Mahan, Bell, Hughes, Ellison, and Monroe houses; as well as the NC State University Student Center annex; Lower Cape Fear Hospice, St. John’s Museum of Art, and Flynn's own office at 15 S. Second St. in Wilmington, N.C. The collection also includes the notebooks of Ligon Flynn’s associate, Harold Garriss, whose seven 120-sheet spiral notebooks cover the years 1981 to 1993. Ligon Flynn (1931-2010) was born near Tryon, North Carolina. He graduated from the School of Design at what was then North Carolina State College in 1959 and taught at the School of Design from 1963 to 1967 while also in private practice. In 1969, he founded the firm of Ligon B. Flynn, Architect, in Raleigh. The firm moved to Wilmington, North Carolina in 1972. Flynn’s firm mainly designed private residences, including a number of houses on Figure Eight Island. He also worked on public buildings, including the in-patient facility for the Lower Cape Fear Hospice and Life Care Center and a number of projects at North Carolina State University. Flynn won six design awards from the North Carolina chapter of the American Institute of Architects. In 1993, he received the Kamphoefner Prize from the N.C. Architecture Foundation. In 2007, he authored a book of photographs titled Tobacco Barns. He retired in 2009.
Less
Digital content available
MacMillan, Daniel Preston, MacMillan, Francis Williams, MacMillan & MacMillan (Firm), Bell, Richard C., 1928-
Size: 5 linear feet (15 flatfolders, 1 cardbox, 1 halfbox) Collection ID: MC 00596
The MacMillan and MacMillan Architectural Papers, 1919, 1950-2010, document the professional activities of Dan and Frank MacMillan and their architectural firm. The collection consists of architectural drawings with various iterations of designs, blueprints, construction documents, prospective elevations, technical drawings, and ...
MoreThe MacMillan and MacMillan Architectural Papers, 1919, 1950-2010, document the professional activities of Dan and Frank MacMillan and their architectural firm. The collection consists of architectural drawings with various iterations of designs, blueprints, construction documents, prospective elevations, technical drawings, and related materials. MacMillan and MacMillan’s projects include mostly private residences, with a small number of subdivision developments. Also included in the collection are drawings of landscape architecture projects by Richard C. Bell, done in collaboration with MacMillan and MacMillan projects. There is also a series of photographs from the period (1950-1952) in which the Dorton Arena was under construction; Dan MacMillan worked on the Dorton Arena as a project engineer for Muirhead Construction. Dan (1921- ) and Frank (d. 1991) MacMillan were born in Fayetteville, North Carolina and were principals in the MacMillan and MacMillan architectural firm. Dan MacMillan graduated from North Carolina State University in 1948 and worked for several years with the architect Jim Webb and then as a project engineer for Muirhead Construction on Raleigh’s Dorton Arena. In 1952 Dan MacMillan founded his firm, Dan MacMillan Architect and Associates in Fayetteville. After his brother, Frank, received his architecture license in the early 1950s Dan partnered with him and the firm was renamed MacMillan and MacMillan. Frank MacMillan died in 1991. The MacMillans had also partnered with other architects during their career, including Brian Shawcroft.
Less
Smith, Macon
Size: 4 linear feet (1 archival box, 5 flat folders, 2 boxes) Collection ID: MC 00311
The papers, 1957-1988, of Macon Smith, an architect in Raleigh, North Carolina, contain an autobiography, a timeline of architectural projects, and architectural plans and drawings for various projects. The autobiography contains both personal information relating to Smith's early life, education, and family, as well as professional ...
MoreThe papers, 1957-1988, of Macon Smith, an architect in Raleigh, North Carolina, contain an autobiography, a timeline of architectural projects, and architectural plans and drawings for various projects. The autobiography contains both personal information relating to Smith's early life, education, and family, as well as professional accomplishments and photographs of his work. Macon Smith (February 24, 1919-October 10, 2008) was an architect with the firm F. Carter Williams in Raleigh, North Carolina. Smith studied architectural engineering at North Carolina State College (later North Carolina State University), graduating in 1941. He also attended Naval Aviation Engineering School in New York and served in World War II. Smith joined the North Carolina Chapter of the American Institute of Architects in 1949, and during the 1960s, he was elected Treasurer, Vice-president, and President. He retired from the architectural profession after a career spanning over 50 years.
Less
Digital content available
Whisnant, Murray
Size: 41.2 linear feet (20 archival boxes, 20 slide boxes, 81 flat folders, and 5 oversize flat boxes); 1 megabyte; 1 file Collection ID: MC 00564
The Murray Whisnant Papers contains correspondence, project files, slides and architectural drawings, as well as other records related to Murray Whisnant’s architectural projects and other designs dating from 1959 to 2017. Many of the projects Whisnant consulted on and designed were located in Charlotte, North Carolina. There are ...
MoreThe Murray Whisnant Papers contains correspondence, project files, slides and architectural drawings, as well as other records related to Murray Whisnant’s architectural projects and other designs dating from 1959 to 2017. Many of the projects Whisnant consulted on and designed were located in Charlotte, North Carolina. There are also sketches and plans of projects that were never completed. William Murray Whisnant was born and grew up in Charlotte, North Carolina, and graduated from Central High in 1950. He then attended North Carolina State University and studied within the School of Design for six years, where he was influenced by faculty member Eduardo Fernando Catalano and visiting architect Buckminster Fuller, as well as Dean Henry L. Kamphoefner. Upon graduation in 1956 Whisnant returned to Charlotte and joined the architectural firm of Sloan and Wheatley. In 1960, he became partner to Charles Wheatley. In 1974, Whisnant left to establish his own firm, Murray Whisnant Architects. In 1990 Murray Whisnant was awarded the Kamphoefner Prize by the AIA (American Institute of Architects) North Carolina chapter and the North Carolina Architectural Foundation. Murray Whisnant was active in the Charlotte community and even late in his life advocated for municipal projects, such as “Energy Park”, to enhance the lived spaces in the city where he was raised.
Less