What happens to my personal data when I return laptops borrowed from NCSU Libraries' Technology Lending service?
Patron privacy is ensured when logging out of the computer. On logout, the user profile and associated data are deleted automatically. If logout does not occur, then profiles and associated data are deleted after 24 hours. Save all files and data on Google Drive, other cloud services, or external storage like USB drives and external hard drives.
Was this helpful?
We're glad! Thanks for the feedback.
Website feedback
We hear you! Thanks for letting us know.
Categories
Keywords: security, password, delete, frozen, thaw, thawed, protect, safe, guard, save, deep, freeze, deepfreeze, usb, thumb, reboot, laptop
Last Edited: Oct 27, 2025
If you need more help, please Ask Us.