Libraries Faculty Award

NCSU Libraries announces the twenty-eighth annual North Carolina State University Libraries Faculty Award. The award is given to an NC State faculty member who has contributed consistently and notably to the accomplishment of the Libraries' mission, vision, and strategic initiatives. The award, established in commemoration of the library’s centennial year in 1989, enables the library to recognize faculty contributions.

Susan Nutter presenting the 2017 Libraries Faculty Award to Dr. Victoria J. Gallagher

Dr. Victoria J. Gallagher and her family

The Friends of the Library will present the award at its Fall event. This award is made possible by funding from the Friends of the Library.

The deadline for nominations is March 27, 2018.

Send nomination forms or any questions to:

Jennifer Garrett
NCSU Libraries Faculty Award Committee
D. H. Hill Library
Campus Box 7111
Phone: (919) 513-0536

How to nominate

  • Download printable nomination form (pdf)
  • Complete the form and provide a letter describing how the nominee meets the criteria listed below.
  • Additional letters in support of a nomination are encouraged.


  • NC State faculty member, except former recipients, is eligible to be nominated for this award.
  • Library faculty are not eligible for nomination.

Nomination criteria

  • Works actively and effectively to support the Libraries
  • Promotes the role of the Libraries as an essential component of the university’s mission
  • Works in partnership with library faculty and staff in teaching, research, and/or extension activities
  • Promotes expanded access to information resources

The award includes:

  • Honorary life membership in the Friends of the Library
  • Name engraved on an NCSU Libraries Faculty Award plaque
  • A special recognition certificate

NCSU Libraries Faculty Award Winners

2018 Dr. Paul Fyfe, English, CHASS
2017 Dr. Victoria J. Gallagher, Communication, CHASS
2016 Dr. Marsha Gordon, English, CHASS
2015 Dr. Barbara Sherman, College of Veterinary Medicine
2014 Professor David Hill, Architecture, College of Design
2013 Dr. Joseph Hightower, Department of Applied Ecology, and Dr. Suzanne Kennedy-Stoskopf, College of Veterinary Medicine
2012 Professor Timothy Buie, College of Design and Professor Michael Young, Department of Computer Science
2011 Dr. Douglas S. Reeves, Computer Science, COE
2010 Dr. David A. Zonderman, History, CHASS
2009 Dr. James Wilson, Industrial Engineering, COE
2008 Daun Daemon, English, CHASS
2007 Dr. Michael R. Hyman, Microbiology, CALS
2006 Dr. Susan S. Osborne, Curriculum and Instruction, CED
2005 Dr. Elisabeth A. Wheeler, Wood and Paper Science, CNR
2004 Dr. Richard H. Bernhard, Industrial Engineering, COE
2003 Dr. Karl F. Bowman, Clinical Sciences, CVM
2002 Dr. George L. Hodge, Textiles and Apparel, CoT
2001 Dr. David Danehower, Crop Science, CALS
  Dr. Ross Whetten, Forestry, CNR
2000  Dr. Hugh A. Devine, Parks, Recreation, and Tourism, CNR
1999  Dr. Lewis L. Deitz, Entomology, CALS
1998 Dr. Larry K. Monteith, Chancellor Emeritus, Electrical Engineering, COE
1997 Dr. J. Lawrence Apple, Plant Pathology and Genetics, CALS
1996 Dr. Michael K. Stoskopf, Companion Animal and Special Species Medicine, CVM
1995 Dr. Charles G. Moreland, Chemistry, PAMS
  Dr. Dale E. Sayers, Physics, PAMS
  Dr. John N. Wall, English, CHASS
1994  Dr. Suzanne T. Purrington, Chemistry, PAMS
1993  Dr. Jerry M. Davis, Marine, Earth, & Atmospheric Sciences, PAMS
1992  Dr. Norman D. Anderson, Mathematics and Science Education, CEP
1991   Dr. Herman Berkhoff, Microbiology, Pathology, and Parasitology, CVM
1990   Dr. Alexander J. De Grand, History, CHASS
1989 Dr. Maurice Hugh Farrier, Entomology, CALS