VML: Selected Information Resources in Veterinary Medicine

Dictionaries

General

  • Black's Veterinary Dictionary. 21st ed., 2005. Boden, Edward.
    VML Ref SF609 .B53 2005
  • Saunders Comprehensive Veterinary Dictionary. 3rd ed., 2007. Blood, D.C., V.P. Studdert, & C.C. Gay, eds.
    VML Ref SF609 .B566 2007 On Reserve
  • Elsevier's Dictionary of Medicine and Biology: in English, Greek, German, Italian, and Latin. 1st ed, 2005. Konstantinidis, Giannis & Stavroula Tsiantoula.
    VML Ref R121 .E47 2005 pt.1-2

Specialized

  • The Dictionary of Gene Technology: Genomics, Transcriptomics, Proteomics. 3rd ed., 2004. Kahl, Gunter.
    VML Ref QH442 .K34 2004 v.1-2
  • Dictionary of Birds of the United States: Scientific and Common Names. 2003. Holloway, J.E. & G.M. Sutton, illus.
    VML QL682 .H65 2003
  • Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology. 3rd ed., 2006. Singleton, Paul & Diana Sainsbury.
    VML Ref QR9 .S56 2006
  • Illustrated Dictionary of Immunology. 2nd ed., 2003. CRC Press.
    VML QR180.4 .C78 2003
  • Mason's World Dictionary of Livestock Breeds, Types, and Varieties. 5th ed., 2002. CABI Publishing.
    VML SF105 .M34 2002
  • Dogs From A to Z: A Dictionary of Canine Terms. 1998. Rice, Dan.
    VML SF422 .R535 1998
  • The Horse's Health from A to Z: An Equine Veterinary Dictionary. 1998. Rossdale, Peter D. & Susan M. Wreford.
    VML Ref SF951 .R725 1998

Encyclopedias

General

  • The Encyclopedia of Animals: A Complete Visual Guide. 2004. Cooke, Fred, et. al.
    VML Ref QL7 .E525 2004
  • Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia. 2nd ed., 2003. Gale.
    VML Ref QL7 .G7813 2003 or online
  • Magill's Encyclopedia of Science: Animal Life. 2002. Salem Press.
    VML Ref QL7 .M34 2002 v.1-4

Specialized

Career Books

  • Careers with Animals: Exploring Occupations Involving Dogs, Horses, Cats, Birds, Wildlife, and Exotics. 2005. Shenk, Ellen.
    VML SF80 .S48 2005
  • Career Choices for Veterinarians: Beyond Private Practice. 1998. Smith, Carin A.
    VML SF756.28 .S65 1998
  • Blackwell's Five-minute Veterinary Practice Management Consult. 2007. Ackerman, Lowell, ed.
    VML SF756.4 .B53 2007
  • Compensation & Benefits: Vital Statistics for Your Veterinary. 4th ed., 2006. Landeck, Erin.
    VML SF756.4 .C66 2006

Statistics

  • APPA National Pet Owners Survey. 2009. VML Ref
  • U.S. Pet Ownership & Demographics Sourcebook. 2007. American Veterinary Medical Association.
    VML Ref SF411.36 .U6 U2 2007
  • Who's Buying for Pets. 7th ed., 2009. New Strategist, eds.
    VML SF414.7 .W46 2009
  • Financial & Productivity Pulsepoints: Vital Statistics for Your Veterinary. 4th ed., 2006. VML SF756.4 .F56 2006

Resources for Practitioners

General

  • Immunology Guidebook. 2004. Cruse, Julius M. & Robert E. Lewis.
    VML QR181 .C77 2004
  • Handbook of Toxicology. 2nd ed., 2002. Derelanko, Michael J. & Manfred A. Hollinger, eds.
    VML RA1215 .C73 2002
  • Handbook of Clinical Pathology. 2nd ed., 2000. American Society of Clincal Pathologists.
    VML RB38.2 .H36 2000
  • Kirk and Bistner's Handbook of Veterinary Procedures and Emergency Treatment. 8th ed., 2006. Ford, Richard B. & Elisa M. Mazzaferro.
    VML SF748 .B57 2006
  • Pocket Companion to Veterinary Medicine. 9th ed., 2000. Blood, D.C.T. & O.M. Radiostits.
    VML SF748 .B58 2000
  • The Merck Veterinary Manual. 9th ed., 2005. Kahn, Cynthia.
    VML Ref SF748 .M47 2005 or online
  • Review of Veterinary Physiology. 2002. Engleking, Larry R.
    VML SF768 .E55 2002
  • Veterinary Anesthesia Drug Quick Reference. 2004. Blaze, Cheryl A. & Maria M. Glowaski.
    VML Ref SF914 .B53 2004

Small Animals

  • Manual of Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care Medicine. 2005. Macintire, Douglass K.
    VML SF778 .M33 2005
  • Henston Small Animal Veterinary Vade Mecum. 23rd ed., 2005.
    VML Ref SF915 .H46 ed. 23 2005
  • Emergency Procedures for the Small Animal Veterinarian. 2nd ed., 2001. Plunkett, Signe J.
    VML SF991 .P58 2001
  • Canine and Feline Endocrinology and Reproduction. 3rd ed., 2004. Feldman, Edward C. & Richard W. Nelson.
    VML SF992 .E53 F45 2004

Large Animals

  • The Artificial Insemination and Embryo Transfer of Dairy and Beef Cattle (Including Information Pertaining to Goats, Sheep, Horses, Swine, and Other Animals): A Handbook and Laboratory Manual. 9th ed., 2004. Mitchell, Jere R. & Gordon A. Doak.
    VML SF201.5 .M57 2004
  • Sheep Production Handbook. 7th ed., 2003. American Sheep Industry Association.
    VML SF375.38 .S54 2003
  • Commercial Chicken Meat and Egg Production. 2002. Bell, Donald D. & William D. Weaver, Jr.
    VML SF487 .N77 2002
  • Alternative Health Practices for Livestock. 2006. Morris, Thomas F. and Michael T. Keilty.
    VML SF745.5 .A48 2006
  • Spurgeon's Color Atlas of Large Animal Anatomy: The Essentials. 1999. McCracken, Thomas O., Robert A. Kainer, & Thomas L. Spurgeon.
    VML SF761 .M35 1999
  • Farm Animal Surgery. 2004. Fubini, Susan L. and Norm G. Ducharme.
    VML SF911 .F925 2004
  • Henston Large Animal and Equine Veterinary Vade Mecum. 12th ed., 2000.
    VML Ref SF915 .H45 ed. 12 2000
  • Homeopathy for the Herd: A Farmer's Guide to Low Cost, Non-toxic Veterinary Care for Cattle. 2003. Sheaffer, C. Edgar.
    VML SF961 .S54 2003

Exotic Animals

  • Laboratory Medicine: Avian and Exotic Pets. 2000. Fudge, Alan M.
    VML SF994 .F83 2000
  • Clinical Anatomy and Physiology of Exotic Species: Structure and Function of Mammals, Birds, Reptiles, and Amphibians. 2005. O'Malley, Bairbre.
    VML SF997.5 .E95 O43 2005

Resources for Pet Owners

General

Dogs and Cats

  • The Dog: Its Behavior, Nutrition, and Health. 2nd ed., 2005. Case, Linda P.
    VML SF426 .C375 2005
  • Mini Encyclopedia of Dog Training & Behavior. 2006. Tennant, Colin.
    VML SF433 .T464 2006
  • The Cat: Its Behavior, Nutrition & Health. 2003. Case, Linda P.
    VML SF442 .C37 2003
  • Prevention's Symptom Solver for Dogs & Cats: From Arfs and Arthritis to Whimpers and Worms: An Owner's Cure Finder. 1999. Hoffman, Matthew, ed.
    VML SF991 .P74 1999
  • American Dog Owners Association
  • Feline Advisory Bureau

Horses

  • Practical Horse Law: A Guide for Owners and Riders. 2002. Gilligan, Brenda.
    VML KD667 .H6 G55 2002
  • Become Perfect Partners: How to be the Owner Your Horse Would Choose for Himself. 2005. Marks, Kelly.
    VML SF287 .M333 2005
  • The Ultimate Horse Behavior and Training Book: Enlightened and Revolutionary Solutions for the 21st Century. 2006. Tellington-Jones, Linda & Bobbie Lieberman.
    VML SF281 .T45 2006
  • Horse Owner's Veterinary Handbook. 2nd ed., 1998. Giffin, J.M. & Tom Gore.
    VML SF951 .G45 1998
  • All Horse Systems Go: The Horse Owner's Full-Color Veterinary Care and Conditioning Resource for Modern Performance, Sport, and Pleasure Horses. 2006. Loving, Nancy.
    VML SF951 .L68 2006
  • The Horse.com

Small Animals

  • Caring for Your Small Pets: An Owner's Guide to Looking After Rabbits, Guinea Pigs, Hamsters, Gerbils and Jirds, Rats, Mice and Chinchillas. 2002. Alderton, David.
    VML SF409 .A43 2002
  • The Small Animals Question and Answer Manual. 2001. Alderton, David.
    VML SF413 .A43 2001

Exotic Animals

  • Exotic Pet Behavior: Birds, Reptiles, and Small Mammals. 2006. Bays, Teresa Bradley and Teresa Lightfoot.
    VML SF412.5 .B29 2006
  • The Tropical Aquarium: Comprehensive Coverage, from Setting up an Aquarium to Choosing the Best Fishes. 2005. Sandford, Gina.
    VML SF457 .S24548 2005
  • The Art of Keeping Snakes: from the Experts at Advanced Vivarium Systems. 2004. Vosjoli, Philippe.
    VML SF459 .S5 D417 2004
  • Sugar Gliders: Everything About Purchase, Care, Nutrition, Behavior, and Breeding. 1997. MacPherson, Caroline.
    VML SF459 .S83 M335 1997
  • Good Bird: A Guide to Solving Behavioral Problems in Companion Birds. 2004. Heidenreich, Barbara.
    VML SF473 .P3 H45 2004
  • Exotic Pet Veterinarian
  • Melissa Kaplan's Herp and Green Iguana Information Collection