The Special Collections Research Center is pleased to announce the recent acquisition of drawings, plans, and maps of campus and campus buildings. These materials have been added to the Office of the University Architect Records, a collection that already includes an extensive amount of drawings and plans of campus landmarks and buildings. The new addition dates from 1905 to 1996 but the bulk of the items date from the first half of the 20th century, a great resource for anyone interested in the campus landscape or building layout at that time. Many of the early campus maps (dating from 1906 to 1913) were drawn by Civil Engineering students, presumably as part of their coursework. Some other notable items include a rendering of Burlington Labs (circa 1972), a map and cross section of the "new" library (now Brooks Hall) (1925), and a large group of drawings of the Yarbrough Plant and Steam Tunnels (including the State College smokestack) (from 1923-1924). Other highlights are shown below:
For more maps and drawings of campus, including this Bird's-Eye View of A&M from 1897, visit our Rare and Unique Digital Collections. To view any of the maps or drawings in our collection, request an appointment through our webform.