History: Women's Studies Research Guide

Scholarly Articles Databases

America: History and Life
Use to find scholarly research in journal articles in the field of U.S. and Canadian history.

Historical Abstracts
Use to find scholarly research in journal articles in the field of world history outside the U.S and Canada.

Feminae: Medievel Women and Gender Index
http://www.haverford.edu/library/reference/mschaus/mfi/mfi.html
Index to journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

Primary/Archival Sources

Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000
Books, images, documents, scholarly essays, comentaries and bibliographies that document the multiplicity of women's activism in American public life.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries
Letters and diaries depicting the personal experiences of hundreds of women. Contains materials from Colonial times to 1950. Allows browsing by place, by year, and by event.

Women's Magazine Archive
Searchable archive of leading women's interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through the 21st.

Godey’s Ladys Book (1830-1885)
Available through the Accessible Archives database - this magazine aimed at a women was founded in Philadelphia in 1830. Includes extensive fashion descriptions and plates, the early issues included biographical sketches, articles about mineralogy, handcrafts, female costume, the dance, equestrienne procedures, health & hygiene, recipes & remedies, etc. Eventually became important literary magazine.

The Lily: A Temperance and Feminist Newspaper (1849-1856)
Available through Accessible Archives database - full archive of the early women's rights publication

Spare Rib
Britsh Library digitization project features this Iconic feminist and women’s liberation magazine which ran from 1972-1993, which provides insight in to the debates and attitudes of women in the UK throughout the 70s, 80s and early 90s.

Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture
http://library.duke.edu/rubenstein/bingham/
Primary women's studies resource material on from Special Collections at Duke University

Documents from the Women’s Liberation Movement
http://library.duke.edu/digitalcollections/wlmpc/
Online archival collection documenting various aspects of the Women's Liberation Movement in the United States, and focusing specifically on the radical origins of this movement during the late 1960s and early 1970s. Items range from radical theoretical writings to humourous plays to the minutes of an actual grassroots group.

African American Women
http://library.duke.edu/rubenstein/collections/digitized/african-american-women
Online archival collections of selected material from Duke Special Collections.

Civil War Women
http://library.duke.edu/rubenstein/collections/digitized/civil-war-women
Online archival collections of selected material from Duke Special Collections.

Scholarly Articles Databases

America: History and Life
Use to find scholarly research in journal articles in the field of U.S. and Canadian history.

Historical Abstracts
Use to find scholarly research in journal articles in the field of world history outside the U.S and Canada.

Reference Books

Handbook of American Women's History / edited by Angela M. Howard and Frances M. Kavenik
HQ1410 .H36 2000 (DH Hill Library, 4th floor)

Women During the Civil War : An Encyclopedia / Judith E. Harper ; foreword by Elizabeth D. Leonard
E628 .H37 2004 (DH Hill Learning Commons)

Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World
Includes biographies and general subject discussions of women in the ancient world.

Women and Gender in Medieval Europe: An Encyclopedia / edited by Margaret Schaus
HQ1147 .E85 W664 2006 (DH Hill Learning Commons)

Women in the Middle Ages : An Encyclopedia / edited by Katharina M. Wilson and Nadia Margolis.
HQ1143 .W643 2004 (DH Hill Learning Commons)

American Women During World War II: An Encyclopedia
Documents the lives and wartime contributions of American women during the Second World War.