Social Work Guide: Government Resources

Administration on Aging (AOA)
A nationwide support network for the elderly; provides services and policy support for the aging.

Children's Bureau
An office of the Administration for Children and Families; provides statistics and research on the welfare of children including adoption and foster care, child welfare outcomes, child welfare expenditures and more.

National Center for Health Statistics
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) provides statistics and surveys on topics ranging from immunization and family growth to longitudinal studies of aging and health care broken demographically and refined by race, age, sex.  

United States Census Bureau
Collects and distributes data about the nation's population and economy.  Find statistical information on business, education, employment, families and living arrangements, health, housing, income, poverty and trade.  The site also provides quick facts and Easy Stats areas in the Find Data Section. The American FactFinder Section provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island Areas. The data is a compilation of several censuses and surveys. State and County Quick Facts, searchable by zip code, provides information about people, business and geography.

United States Bureau of Justice Statistics
Provides statistics about crime and victims, drugs and crime, criminal offenders, law enforcement, prosecution, and courts.

United States Bureau of Labor Statistics

United States Department of Health and Human Services
Access information ranging from poverty guidelines and social services to public health and safety, and research on health care, public health, human services, biomedical research.

United States Department of Justice, Civil Rights Division
Investigate cases and matters before the DOJ, gain access to various publications

United States Department of Justice, Civil Rights Division, ADA.gov
Provides information and technical assistance on the Americans with Disabilities Act

NBER
This online index and ordering service presents working papers of the National Bureau of Economic Research, including many full-text papers.