Open Access Resources

The majority of the library's databases are only available to NC State students, faculty, staff and in-library users. However, the following resources can be freely accessed by the general public. Current NC State-affiliated researchers should take full advantage of the our licensed subscription-based databases and journals.

Two options for finding open access versions of published articles - Open Access Button and Unpaywall - offer additional ways to discover open access content online.

  • Open Access Button:  Browser extension searches for OA versions of paywalled content. Works with Chrome, Firefox, Safari, iPad, and Internet Explorer. If you can't find OA version of an article, this service can also help reach out to authors to request the article.
  • Unpaywall:  Browser extension searches for OA versions of paywalled content. Works with Chrome and Firefox.

Agricultural Sciences

PubAg

PubAg is a portal to USDA-authored and other highly relevant agricultural research. At launch, it delivers over 40,000 full-text journal articles by USDA staff and includes nearly 450,000 citations. The portal will add about 20,000 citations each month.

Art, Architecture, & Design

Design Library Image Resources with Zero or Limited Copyright Restrictions

Design Library list of image resources for art, architecture, landscape architecture, graphic design, industrial design, fashion, decorative arts, cities, maps, engineering, history, religion, medicine, natural sciences, and much more.

Biomedicine

PubMed Central

PubMed Central is the barrier-free NIH repository for peer-reviewed primary research articles and reports in the medical and life sciences.

Chemistry

ChemIDplus

ChemIDplus is a free database of structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases, including the TOXNET® system.

ChemSpider

ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing text and structure search access to over 35 million structures from hundreds of data sources.

ChemSynthesis

ChemSynthesis is a free database of substances with their synthesis references and physical properties such as melting point, boiling point and density. More than 40,000 compounds and more than 45,000 synthesis references in the database.

NIST Chemistry Webbook

NIST Chemistry Webbook is a free database of physical property data compiled by the National Institute of Standards (NIST) under their Standard Reference Data Program. In addition to thermodynamics (thermochemical, thermophysical, ion energetic) date, IR, mass, and UV/Vis spectra is also available.

Organic Chemistry Portal

Organic Chemistry Portal is a free portal of organic reactions and syntheses.

Organic Syntheses

Organic Syntheses is free database of preparations of organic syntheses

PubChem

PubChem is a free database on the biological activities of small molecules. Includes PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.

Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (SDBS)

SDBS is a free integrated spectral database system for organic compounds,which includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds.

Computer Science

arXiv

Open access to more than 1 million research articles in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.

Criminal Justice

National Criminal Justice Reference

NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.

Economics & Demography

UNdata

Statistical time series for countries from around the world covering a wide range of economic and socio-demographic topics.

Education

Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC)

ERIC is an online digital library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the US Department of Education.

Government Information

FDsys

FDsys provides free online access to official Federal Government publications.

Life Sciences

Public Library of Science

PLOS publishes a suite of influential Open Access journals across all areas of science and medicine.

BioMed Central

BioMed Central provides free access to biomedical research publications such as journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts.

Mathematics

arXiv

Open access to more than one million e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.

Medicine

SAGE Pure Gold Open Access Journals

SAGE Pure Gold Open Access Journals is a collection of journals on human medicine and biomedical science.

Clinical Trials

Clinical Trials is a database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.

PubMed Central

PubMed Central is the barrier-free NIH repository for peer-reviewed primary research articles and reports in the medical and life sciences.

Multidisciplinary

Core

CORE (COnnecting REpositories) aggregrates all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide.

OAIster

OAIster is a union catalog of over 30 million records representing open access resources.

Internet Archive eBooks and Texts

Provides online access to the full text of public domain and out-of-copyright books reproduced either from the texts produced by libraries, other organizations, or individuals.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, patents, case laws, and technical reports from all broad areas of research.

SpringerOpen

SpringerOpen is a collection of open access journals from multiple disciplines.

Elsevier Open Access Journals

Elsevier Open access journals provide free access articles from multiple subject areas.

Wiley Open Access

Wiley Open Access journals contain articles across multiple research areas.

Taylor & Francis Open Journals

Taylor & Francis Open Journals is a collection of open access journals from multiple disciplines.

DOAJ

DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Digital Public Library of America

The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.

Natural History

Biodiversity Heritage Library

The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community. BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life.

Physics

arXiv

Open access to more than one million e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.

Sciences

HighWire Press

HighWire Press is the largest archive of free full-text science.

Social Sciences

Social Science Research Network

SSRN is a world wide collaborative of over 289,100 authors and more than 1.7 million users that is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research.