Information On The Internet: Food Science Research Guide
- Food Science Reseach Guide (hhttp://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/foodscience)
- The World Wide Web Virtual Library--Agriculture (http://cipm.ncsu.edu/agVL/)
- Center for Food Safety & Applied Nutrition (CFSAN) (http://www.fda.gov/food). Food and Drug Administration.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) (http://www.cdc.gov/)
- Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) (http://www.nal.usda.gov/fnic/)
- USDA Agricultural Marketing Service (http://www.ams.usda.gov/).
As one of its functions, this service "includes six commodity programs--Cotton, Dairy, Fruit and Vegetable, Livestock and Seed, Poultry, and Tobacco. The programs employ specialists who provide standardization, grading and market news services for those commodities."
- USDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (http://www.aphis.usda.gov/)
- USDA's Current Research Information System (CRIS) Web site (http://cris.csrees.usda.gov/)
- USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS) (http://www.fsis.usda.gov/)
The FSIS is "the public health agency in the U.S. Department of Agriculture responsible for ensuring that the nation's commercial supply of meat, poultry, and egg products is safe, wholesome, and correctly labeled and packaged." The site includes news releases, recall updates, HACCP-related documents, and food safety information for consumers.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration (http://www.fda.gov/)
- www.FoodSafety.gov A "gateway to government food safety information."
- NCSU Department of Food, Bioprocessing and Nutrition Sciences Extension Program (http://ncsu.edu/foodscience/extension_program/)
Provides valuable information to anyone involved in the processing of food, entrepreneurs wishing to start a food business, and others who require training and certification in food processing safety.
- NC Cooperative Extension (http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/)
Includes a link to the list of NCCES County Extension Centers (http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/counties/).
- State Partners (http://www.reeusda.gov/statepartners/usa.html)
A "directory of land-grant universities which are state partners of the Cooperative State Research, Education, and Extension Service."
- AgNIC (Agriculture Network Information Center) (http://www.agnic.org/)
See Ask a Question for links to AgNIC Centers of Excellence that support specific subject areas.
- Food Animal Residue Avoidance Databank (FARAD) (http://www.farad.org/)
- Institute of Food Technologists home page (http://www.ift.org/).
Includes daily food science and technology-related news headlines and the IFT Knowledge Center Internet Portal, a gateway to FS&T resources.
- International Food Information Council (IFIC) (http://www.ific.org/)
Supported primarily by food, beverage and agricultural industries, the IFIC's mission is "to communicate science-based information on food safety and nutrition to health and nutrition professionals, educators, journalists, government officials and others providing information to consumers."
- North Carolina Agribusiness Council (http://www.ncagribusiness.com)
Food Science Departments
- NCSU Department of Food, Bioprocessing and Nutrition Sciences (http://ncsu.edu/foodscience/)
- College and University Food Science Programs in the U.S.
- Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools (RePORT).
A searchable database of biomedical research projects funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Food and Drug Administration (FDA), and other agencies.
- NSF Funded Research.
Information about research projects that the National Science Foundation (NSF) has funded since 1989.
- USDA's Current Research Information System (CRIS) Web site.
Is the USDA's "documentation and reporting system for ongoing and recently completed research projects in agriculture, food and nutrition, and forestry."
- Community of Science (COS) (http://www.cos.com/services/)
- COS Funding Opportunities
Contains detailed information for more than 20,500 available research grants worldwide. Updated daily.
- Funded Research
(via Community of Science). Search to see what projects have been funded by the NSF, NIH, USDA and other organizations. (Note: This database is for Community of Science members only. Accessible only via one's personal COS Workbench.)
- COS Funding Opportunities
- FAOSTAT. Food Quality Control. (http://faostat3.fao.org/home/index.html). Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations.
The FAOSTAT collection of statistical databases provides access to production, trade, and other international agricultural statistics. The Food Quality section allows one to search Codex Alimentarius: Pesticide Residues in Food and Codex Alimentarius: Veterinary Drug Residues in Food.
- National Food Safety Database (http://foodsafety.ifas.ufl.edu/)
"The goal of the National Food Safety Database project is to develop an efficient management system of US food safety databases that are used by the Cooperative Extension Service (CES), consumers, industry, and other public health organizations. The end result of such a management program is a highly informative, efficient and accurate website which will provide one-stop shopping for food safety information."
- Thomas Register of American Manufacturers.
An online version of the printed trade catalog. Complete the free membership form to search for manufacturers of industrial products and services.
(Note: the print version of the Thomas Register is located in the Business Alcove in the D. H. Hill Reference area (call number T12.T6).)
- AgZines: a Harvest of FreeAgricultural Journals (http://usain.org/agzines.html)
Produced by the United States Agricultural Information Network (USAIN), a "compilation of agricultural journals that are available free on the web. Formerly known as Tomato Juice, this list collects web sites" that are related to the field of agriculture and related sciences.
- Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) (http://chla.library.cornell.edu/)
A "core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century." Full-text.
- E-Answers (http://e-answers.adec.edu/)
A searchable Web site that provides access to full text documents on a wide range of Extension or Outreach-oriented subjects. The work is by Extension Service and Agricultural Experiment Station professionals at several U.S. land-grant universities.
To find other Web sites, click on Netscape's Search button and use one of the many available search engines. For searching tips and comparisons of the features of various search engines, see:
- Web Searching, a guide from the Internet Public Library
- Search Engine Features for Searchers from Search Engine Watch
For examples showing how to cite Internet resources, see Citing Electronic Resources from the Internet Public Library.