SciFinder Scholar licenses faq
This page is provided to help you understand NCSU's access to SciFinder Scholar, and issues arising from our decision to preferrentially support the web version of SciFinder Scholar.
Help and support:
How do I access SciFinder Scholar?
Starting on January 5, 2009, most of our campus licenses will be devoted to the web version of SciFinder Scholar. Please preferentially access the database via this web interface no later than that date. Use the access link on the Libraries' SciFinder Scholar page. Desktop client software will still be available after this date, but only one license will be available (i.e., one simultaneous user).
When did we get a web version of SciFinder Scholar?
This is newly available at the NCSU Libraries as of October 2008. We apologize if you are a frequent user of this product and did not hear about it! We notified academic departments with a specific interest in the database, and posted information on the Physical and Engineering Sciences News blog. We communicate with all academic departments via e-mail to library representatives, with the understanding that those messages get forwarded on to all department personnel. However, we understand that mass e-mail messages can go unnoticed, and have tried a few other methods of promoting the web version. To help keep up with news from the Libraries, check out the Physical and Engineering Sciences News blog, Twitter feed, or contact Hilary Davis or Josh Wilson with questions. If we missed you, tell us how we could have done a better job. We would like to hear from you. We are always looking for ways to improve our methods of getting news to the campus community.
Why are we switching to the web version?
Several factors contributed to this decision.
- First and foremost, browser-based access to databases and journals is now the norm for all modern researchers. We expect that most users will prefer this more practical platform (we've been asked about web access for years!).
- The web version is robust and useful. It provides most essential features of SciFinder Scholar, and even makes many of the most commonly used advanced features more easily accessible.
- The web version of SciFinder Scholar is much easier to learn and is more intuitive than the client version, especially for users new to SciFinder Scholar.
- The client software restricts access to on-campus use. The web version does not.
- We will keep one license devoted to the client version to meet the needs of on-campus researchers who are unable to switch to the web version.
I really like the client version. Do I have to use the web version of SciFinder Scholar?
The client version will still be available, but we ask that all SciFinder Scholar users adopt the web version. Based on feedback, we expect many people will be happy to switch, but we understand that those accustomed to the client software may be hesitant to use a new platform. But experienced client software users should find the switch easy. And as of January 5, 2009, access to the client version will be limited to one simultaneous campus user, meaning that you will experience increased access problems with the client. If the web version fails to meet your research needs, please let us know.
How do I use the web version of SciFinder Scholar?
Access the database via the the Libraries' SciFinder Scholar page. All users must register with CAS prior to accessing the database. If you are on campus, you will only need your CAS username and password. Off-campus users will be prompted for a unity ID and password as well, as with all other databases and journals you access through the Libraries' web site. SciFinder requires that you
register as a new user, agree to terms of use, and maintain your own
username and password account. This account will give you space on the CAS server and inform the system to which address to send your Keep Me Posted results.
How many people can use SciFinder Scholar at once?
We have a total of six licenses, or "seats", for SciFinder Scholar available to the NCSU campus community. Starting January 5, 2009, five of these seats will be allocated to the web version of SciFinder Scholar, with the remaining seat for the desktop client version. A seat represents the
number of campus users that can access the database at the same time. So, five simultaneous users will be able to access SciFinder Scholar via the web version, and only one user can access the client version at a time.
Why don't we have more licenses?
SciFinder Scholar is an expensive resource, therefore the number of seats that the NCSU Libraries can purchase is limited. The number we have now strikes a balance between what is feasible within our collections budget and campus need.
What happens when too many people try to access the database at once?
If all the seats are in use, you'll get an error message and will not be able to use SciFinder. Web users will see the "Your allocated system resources are currently unavailable" message and client software users will see the "Too many concurrent sessions for this login id" error. Generally, waiting a few minutes is an adequate solution. The seats free up fairly quickly most of the time. Users can also choose to access SciFinder Scholar via the alternate platform (i.e., web users can try the client, client users can try the web) to see if a seat is available. If you get this message persistently, let us know. We
monitor overall usage statistics but are also interested in your
specific experience accessing SciFinder Scholar.
I am not a student or faculty or staff member at NCSU. Can I access SciFinder?
In accordance with the terms of the NCSU Libraries' licensing agreement with CAS, we can only provide access to SciFinder to university students, faculty, and staff. Users of the web version of the software must register individually with CAS, which requires an ncsu.edu e-mail address and an agreement not to use the database for commercial purposes. The desktop client software can be downloaded only by NCSU students, faculty, and staff, and is installed only on library computers that require a Unity ID.
Questions or comments about SciFinder Scholar? Please contact Hilary Davis or Josh Wilson or use the form below. Include your e-mail address or phone number if you would like a reply.
|