DATABASES: discoverygate
**DiscoveryGate will no longer be accessible as of November 30, 2008**. Access to the Beilstein and Gmelin databases will still be available through CrossFire Commander client software.
Important! DiscoveryGate is accessible through a web browser but you must download and install software (instructions below) in order to ensure successful access of databases on the site.
Access the site: DiscoveryGate
DiscoveryGate is also available on the multimedia PC in the west wing of the DH Hill Library (requires staff login-- ask at the reference desk for assistance).
Installation Instructions
PC users: to successfully launch and run the web interface, please complete the following steps to install the appropriate browser extensions.
- IE is recommended and supported by the site, but Firefox usually works. Use IE if you experience problems.
- Go to the DiscoveryGate site. You may need to accept a security certificate and permit Java content to run.
- Click the Download Software tab (screenshot) to proceed to the downloads screen. There, click the Download button to obtain the installer (~60MB).
- Close your browser and other program files. Double-click the download file to begin installation. Follow the directions on the download screen and the installer prompts.
- Restart your browser and return to the DiscoveryGate site.
- Click Search Databases (screenshot) to launch the database interface. You may need to unblock pop-ups.
Mac users: you do not need to download additional software, but you may need to obtain the latest Java package.
- Safari is recommended. Other browsers may work, but use Safari if you experience problems.
- Go to the DiscoveryGate site. You may need to accept a security certificate.
- You may need to update your Java client. If so, you should be prompted to do this when you first get to the DiscoveryGate site:
"DiscoveryGate client java components are available for this application." Allow the updates and restart your browser. If you are not prompted to update your Java client and are unable to launch the interface, try a manual update: click on the Apple icon: Software Update to get the latest Java
version (may require a system restart afterwards).
- Return to the DiscoveryGate site.
- Click Search Databases (screenshot) to launch the database interface. You may need to unblock pop-ups.
Available Databases
DiscoveryGate interface provides access to the following databases:
- Beilstein/Gmelin*
- MDL Compound Index
- MDL Comprehensive Medicinal Chemistry
- MDL Drug Data Report
- National Cancer Institute Database
- MDL Metabolite Database
- MDL Toxicity Database
- Chemical Sourcing and Logistics Information
- MDL Available Chemicals Directory
- MDL Screening Compounds Directory
- Synthetic Methodology Information
- ChemInform Reaction Library
- Derwent Journal of Synthetic Methods
- ORGSYN Database
- MDL Reference Library of Synthetic Methodology
- MDL Solid-Phase Organic Reactions
* Beilstein and Gmelin are also available via CrossFire Commander software.
Using DiscoveryGate
Some ways to familiarize yourself with the use of DiscoveryGate:
Need more help accessing DiscoveryGate or using the databases? Please contact Hilary Davis or Josh Wilson.
|