Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Search the Collection
Get Answers Now

Beilstein/Gmelin via CrossFire Commander 7.1

NCSU students, faculty, and staff can access the Beilstein and Gmelin databases* via CrossFire Commander software. The client software can be downloaded and installed onto personal workstations. However, an NC State IP address is required to connect to the Beilstein / Gmelin Databases (i.e., the software must be run on campus).

The software is also available on PCs in the Learning Commons and other selected workstations in the NCSU Libraries. Check the computing page for information and policies.

* Beilstein and Gmelin are also available via DiscoveryGate.


Installation instructions

The latest version of this software is version 7.1. Upgrading to the latest version is recommended! Please see the Beilstein 6/7.0 page for questions about previous installations.

Commander software for both Mac and PC is available for NCSU users at:

http://info.crossfirecommander.com/

The following steps will guide you through the installation of CrossFire Commander version 7.1 An Adobe PDF document Installation guide (PDF) is available if you have difficulty.

  1. From the site above, click Download CrossFire Commander in the right column.
  2. Select CrossfireCommander71.zip (~26MB) to get the latest version of the software. Mac users should select v.6.
  3. Double-click the zip file you've downloaded to extract. Then install by double-clicking the InstallShell file, and choosing the 'Install Commander' option.
  4. You will need these for the installation**:

    • Host IP Address = crossfire-acad.elsevier.com
    • Group Name = ncstate
    • Article Resolver URL = http://sfx.lib.ncsu.edu/ncsu
    • Patent Resolver URL = http://sc.elsevier.com/xflink (this will be the default--leave it as is)

  5. You will also be prompted to install MDL Chime software during installation. It is highly recommended you permit this installation, which will enable structure drawing within the Commander.
  6. When running the Commander software, use the following ID and password (when first entering, check the save box to preserve the information in order to skip this prompt later):
    • User ID = xfncsu
    • Password = tru37#88

  7. You may be prompted to select a database (Beilstein or Gmelin or both) upon first use of the software. If not, click Connect (or Select Database to confirm connection). Searching both databases simultaneously significantly limits the available fields and search options, so it is recommended you pick one database only unless you specifically require searches across both. You can always switch your option later by clicking Select Database.

**If you are upgrading your installation of the Commander software (installing with previous versions already on your computer), you may not be prompted for the Host IP Address and Group Name. If you cannot connect to the databases, be sure your Host IP Address is updated:

  1. Click Options--Connection Settings.
  2. EDIT default.prf:
  3. Change host address to crossfire-acad.elsevier.com
  4. UNCHECK "Forget user ID/Password for the server".
  5. Click OK to save changes and close editing.
  6. Click on default.prf and click on SELECT.
  7. You may be prompted to select a database (Beilstein or Gmelin or both) upon first use of the software. If not, click Connect (or Select Database to confirm connection).

Using Beilstein/Gmelin via CrossFire Commander

Some ways to familiarize yourself with the use of Beilstein/Gmelin via CrossFire Commander:


Need more help downloading or using Beilstein/Gmelin? Please contact Hilary Davis or Josh Wilson.

An installation CD is also available at the NCSU Libraries if you have difficulty downloading files from the Commander site. Contact the librarians to arrange to use this CD.

 
NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University