Women's Studies Research Guide
History
North
American Women's Letters and Diaries
Letters and diaries depicting the personal experiences of hundreds
of women. Contains materials from Colonial times to 1950. Allows browsing
by place, by year, and by event.
Feminae:
Medievel Women and Gender Index
http://www.haverford.edu/library/reference/mschaus/mfi/mfi.html
Index to journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about
women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
Godey’s
Ladys Book (1830-1885)
Available through the Accessible Archives database - this magazine aimed at a women was founded in Philadelphia in 1830. Includes
extensive fashion descriptions and plates, the early issues included
biographical sketches, articles about mineralogy, handcrafts, female
costume, the dance, equestrienne procedures, health & hygiene,
recipes & remedies, etc. Eventually became important literary
magazine.
Handbook of American Women's History /
edited by Angela M. Howard and Frances M. Kavenik
D. H. Hill Ref. HQ1410 .H36 2000
Women During the Civil War : An Encyclopedia /
Judith E. Harper ; foreword by Elizabeth D. Leonard
D. H. Hill Ref. E628 .H37 2004
Women in the Middle Ages : An Encyclopedia
/ edited by Katharina M. Wilson and Nadia Margolis.
D. H. Hill Ref. HQ1143 .W643 2004
Sallie Bingham Center
for Women's History and Culture
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/women/
Primary women's studies resource material on from Special Collections
at Duke University
Documents from the
Women’s Liberation Movement
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/wlm/
Online archival collection documenting various aspects of the Women's
Liberation Movement in the United States, and focusing specifically
on the radical origins of this movement during the late 1960s and
early 1970s. Items range from radical theoretical writings to humourous
plays to the minutes of an actual grassroots group.
African
American Women
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/collections/african-american-women.html
Online archival collections of selected material from Duke Special
Collections.
Civil
War Women
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/collections/civil-war-women.html
Online archival collections of selected material from Duke Special
Collections.
America:
History and Life
Use to find scholarly research in journal articles in the field of
U.S. and Canadian history.
Historical
Abstracts
Use to find scholarly research in journal articles in the field of
world history outside the U.S and Canada.
Librarian Contact Information
|