Secondary Sources: U.S. Legal Resources Research Guide

Legal Dictionaries (D.H. Hill, Catalog)

Legal Encyclopedias (D.H. Hill, Catalog)
Legal encyclopedias function like general encyclopedias, explaining legal concepts and ideas. They are an excellent place to begin your research if you do not have a narrowly defined topic or have only basic knowledge of legal principles. Citations to relevant statutes, court decisions, books, and journal articles are often provided.

Legal Journals (D.H. Hill, Catalog)
Articles in legal journals provide analysis of current issues, historical research, and interdisciplinary treatment of legal problems. Journal articles frequently provide information on topics not yet discussed in a legal encyclopedia. Articles always include citations to statutes, court decisions, and regulations.

LexisNexis Academic Database
LexisNexis Academic focuses primarily on business and law topics, with additional general news (international, national and local), medical, and reference resources. Most material is full-text. For Business, LexisNexis features company and industry news, detailed company financial data, and includes major accounting journals. In Law, the database provides texts of federal and state court decisions, federal and state agency regulations, and law journal articles.

THOMAS Database
Provides free access to a wide range of legislative information on the Congress, including the full text of the Congressional Record and bills for the 103rd to the present Congress, a directory of congressional committees and members of Congress, the weekly floor schedule for the House, and a schedule of daily committee hearings. Includes text of Howour laws are made by Edward F. Willett Jr.

Legal Research Guides (D.H. Hill, Catalog)