Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: U.S. LEGAL RESOURCES GUIDE

Getting Started

Primary Sources
Constitution
Statutes
Administrative Rules and Regulations
Court Reports
U.S. District Courts
U.S. Courts of Appeal
U.S. Supreme Court

Secondary Sources
Legal Dictionaries
Legal Encyclopedias
Legal Journals
Legal Journal Indexes
Finding Books Using the Online Catalog
Finding Federal Documents Using the Online Catalog
Other Sources

For Additional Information

U.S. Legal Resources Guide

Primary Sources

Court Reports

Court reports are the published decisions of courts on specific issues raised in disputes (cases). Cases begin as civil disputes or criminal charges which are taken to court for resolution by a judge and/or jury. The first stage of the court system is called the trial court. Within the federal court system, the United States District Courts are trial courts. The United States Courts of Appeal and the United States Supreme Court are considered appellate courts. Unlike the state courts, decisions of all these courts are published. Decisions are published in chronological order.

LexisNexis Academic Federal & State Cases
NCSU's Information System; restricted use via remote access.
Go to this LexisNexis Academic link; there the default choice in the "Select Sources" dropdown should be "Federal and State Cases, Combined." Change this selection to the appropriate court level for your search.

U. S. District Courts

Federal Supplement, v. 1-578, 1932-1984
West's Federal Supplement, v. 671-902, 1988-1996; 65-84 (1999-2000)
D. H. Hill Stacks KF120 .F42 (5th Floor, Tower stacks)
Chronological compilation of selected decisions for the United States District Court. Publication began in 1932.
Cite as: 865 F. Supp. 1462 (E.D.N.C. 1985)

U. S. Courts of Appeal

Federal Reporter 2d, v. 1-830, 1924-1988
West's Federal Reporter, 2d, v. 831-999, 1988-1993; 3d, v. 1-69, 130-204, 1993-96, 1998-2004 with gaps
D. H. Hill Stacks KF105 .F42 (5th Floor, Tower stacks)
Chronological compilation of published decisions for the United States Courts of Appeal. Federal Reporter began publication in 1880 and ceased in 1924 with the initiation of Federal Reporter, 2d Series.
Cite as: 435 F.2d 168 (4th Cir. 1978)

U. S. Supreme Court

United States Reports, v. 284- 1931 to date
D. H. Hill Reference Ju6.8: (U.S. Documents Reference, 2d floor, north tower)
Decisions appear chronologically as individual opinions (called slip opinions), and as a pamphlet compilation (advance sheet) prior to publication in a hard cover volume.
Publication is slow with a one year delay before publication of advance sheets and two year delay before the hard cover volume is published.
Cite as: 451 U.S. 184 (1986)

United States Supreme Court Reports, Lawyers' Edition, v. 1-100, 1790-1955
United States Supreme Court Reports, Lawyers' Edition 2d, v. 1-61, 1956-1979
D. H. Hill Reference Ju6.8:L (U.S. Documents Reference, 2d floor, north tower)
This is a commercial edition of the U.S. Reports that provides coverage of Supreme Court case decisions for dates prior to the 1930s. Cite as: 61 L Ed 2d 101 (1979)

United States Law Week, v. 50- 1981 to date
D. H. Hill Reference KF105.1 .U56 (latest volume only, Reference - 1st Floor, East Wing)
D. H. Hill Stacks KF105.1 .U56 (5th Floor, Tower stacks)
Issued weekly, this source provides current coverage of the activities of the Supreme Court and other federal courts. Full-text of decisions of the Supreme Court will be available within two weeks of the release of a decision.
Cite as: 60 U.S.L.W. 4152 (1982)

Subject access to court decisions is provided by a digest. The digest also gives access by case name. Indexing for the District Courts, Courts of Appeal, and Supreme Court is provided by West's Federal Practice Digest which is available at the Supreme Court Library and the Meredith College Library.

United States Supreme Court Digest
D. H. Hill Reference KF8741 .A53 U5 (Reference, 1st Floor, East Wing)
A subject index to decisions of the U.S. Supreme Court, the set includes a Descriptive Word Index to help choose the appropriate subject term. The Table of Cases and Defendant-Plaintiff Table will provide a case citation if you have the name of one party.

Librarian Contact Information

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University