Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: U.S. LEGAL RESOURCES GUIDE

Getting Started

Primary Sources
Constitution
Statutes
Administrative Rules and Regulations
Court Reports
U.S. District Courts
U.S. Courts of Appeal
U.S. Supreme Court

Secondary Sources
Legal Dictionaries
Legal Encyclopedias
Legal Journals
Legal Journal Indexes
Finding Books Using the Online Catalog
Finding Federal Documents Using the Online Catalog
Other Sources

For Additional Information

U.S. Legal Resources Guide

Secondary Sources

Legal Journal Indexes

An index is used to locate articles in legal journals. Specific topical indexes, such as Criminal Justice Abstracts, may be used to focus more closely on a specific topic.

LexisNexis Academic Law Reviews
NCSU's Information System; restricted use via remote access.
LexisNexis Academic is the most comprehensive full-text source of legal journals that is available to the NCSU community.

Index to Legal Periodicals, v. 21-v. 33, 1981 to 1994
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books, v. 34-v. 39, 1994 to 2000
D. H. Hill Stacks K9 .N32 (4th Floor, Tower Stacks)
Begun in 1908, this title indexes the most important legal periodicals in a format similar to the Readers' Guide. Articles are indexed by subject and author. Each volume includes a Table of Cases and a Table of Statutes indicating articles which include a substantial discussion of a particular decision or statute.

Records for the journals the library holds are contained in the library's online catalog. The catalog also shows which years are available in the building in various formats. A periodical title's catalog record provides a link to an electronic copy of the title, if we have access to it in that format.

The library's catalog does not contain references to the articles within periodicals. It only records the titles of periodicals. You must use databases, like those noted above, to search the contents of journals. In some cases, you can find full-text of a periodical's contents using these databases. But that is not always possible. When full-text electronic access is not available, search the library's catalog under the name of the journal you want, obtain its call number, and then get the volume from the bookstack.


Librarian Contact Information

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University