Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: U.S. LEGAL RESOURCES GUIDE

Getting Started

Primary Sources
Constitution
Statutes
Administrative Rules and Regulations
Court Reports
U.S. District Courts
U.S. Courts of Appeal
U.S. Supreme Court

Secondary Sources
Legal Dictionaries
Legal Encyclopedias
Legal Journals
Legal Journal Indexes
Finding Books Using the Online Catalog
Finding Federal Documents Using the Online Catalog
Other Sources

For Additional Information

U.S. Legal Resources Guide

Secondary Sources

Legal Encyclopedias

Legal encyclopedias function like general encyclopedias, explaining legal concepts and ideas. They are an excellent place to begin your research if you do not have a narrowly defined topic or have only basic knowledge of legal principles. Citations to relevant statutes, court decisions, books, and journal articles are often provided.

West's Encyclopedia of American Law
D. H. Hill Reference KF154 .W47 1997 (Reference, 1st floor, East Wing)
An encyclopedia of law for the non-lawyer. It includes articles on general legal topics, famous trials, landmark documents, and biographies with a general index.

Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
D. H. Hill Reference KF4548 .E53 2000 (Reference, 1st Floor, East Wing)
Dealing exclusively with issues growing out of the interpretation of the U.S. Constitution, it includes essays on individuals, court decisions, and public acts.

Corpus Juris Secundum
D. H. Hill Stacks KF154 .C67 (5th floor, Tower Stacks)
C.J.S. is designed for a lawyer's use and provides comprehensive coverage of court decisions from all federal and state courts.

Librarian Contact Information

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University