Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: U.S. LEGAL RESOURCES GUIDE

Getting Started

Primary Sources
Constitution
Statutes
Administrative Rules and Regulations
Court Reports
U.S. District Courts
U.S. Courts of Appeal
U.S. Supreme Court

Secondary Sources
Legal Dictionaries
Legal Encyclopedias
Legal Journals
Legal Journal Indexes
Finding Books Using the Online Catalog
Finding Federal Documents Using the Online Catalog
Other Sources

For Additional Information

U.S. Legal Resources Guide

Secondary Sources

Finding Federal Documents Using the Online Catalog

Federal government documents, published since 1976, can be searched by author, title, subject, and keyword in the library's online catalog.

The library's Federal documents collection is an extensive one. Many of the publications it contains are not represented in the library's online catalog. For material issued prior to 1976, use the printed Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications shelved in the U.S. Documents Reference area, 2d floor, north tower.

The Federal documents collection is shelved in the 2d floor tower stack areas of the library. The collection is arranged by a separate classification system -- the Superintendent of Documents (or SuDoc) classification scheme -- which arranges material by the government agency responsible for the publication. Such an arrangement is not good for browsing since many agencies may have published books on a given topic.

A Documents Reference collection is located at the north end of the Federal documents collection, on the last range of shelving opposite windows facing on Hillsborough Street.

An extensive Federal Government Documents Tutorial is available.


Librarian Contact Information

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University