|
Home: SOCIOLOGY
Finding General Information
Encyclopedias and Guides
Dictionaries
Finding Journal Articles
Electronic Databases
Older Print Indexes
Specialized Indexes
Multi-disciplinary Databases
Finding Books and Journal Titles Using the Online Catalog
Finding Federal Documents
Finding Data and Statistical Information
Indexes to Statistical Data
Statistical Abstracts and Compendia
Polls and Surveys
Machine Readable Data Files
Internet Resources
For Additional Information
|
Sociology Research Guide
Finding Data and Statistical
Information
Polls and Surveys
Opinion polls and attitude surveys are a rich source of information for
researchers. You can use these resources to replicate previous studies and
identify effective questions and questionaires. The data may be used to
support hypotheses. Many polls and surveys conducted by magazines,
associations, and institutions are included in the Statistical
Reference Index.
-
Compendium of American Public Opinion
- D. H. Hill Tower stacks HN90 .P8 G56 1988 (4th floor)
-
Gallup Poll Monthly, no. 291-438, 1989 to 2002
- D. H. Hill Tower stacks HM261 .G35 1994-2002 (4th floor)
- Satellite Shelving Facillity HM261 .G35 1989-1993
- Current information from
http://www.gallup.com/
-
Index to International Public Opinion, 1978/79 to date
- D. H. Hill Reference HM261 .I552 (latest five years,
Reference stacks;
1998/99 is the latest published (7/05))
- D. H. Hill Tower Stacks HM261 .I552 (4th floor)
-
Public Opinion Polls - Cornell University
- Internet resource
http://www.ciser.cornell.edu/info/polls.shtml
Machine Readable Data Files
-
GSS
- The GSS (General Social Survey) is an almost annual, "omnibus," personal
interview survey of U.S. households conducted by the National Opinion Research
Center (NORC). The first survey took place in 1972 and since then more than
35,000 respondents have answered over 2500 different questions.
The mission of the GSS is to make timely, high-quality, scientifically
relevant data available to the social science research community. Key
features of the GSS are its broad coverage, its use of replication, its
cross-national perspective, and its attention to data quality. The special
features of the GSS follow from its unique origin as the first, perhaps only,
social science data set designed to be analyzed by "users."
-
ICPSR
- NCSU is one of over 300 members of the Inter-University Consortium for
Political and Social Research (ICPSR) which collects and distributes social
science data in machine-readable form. Available data include attitude
surveys, crime surveys, public opinion polls, and census data.
-
United States Census Data
- The Census Bureau's web site provides excellent coverage for United States
social, demographic and economic information. The majority of the 2000 Census data has been released in electronic form only. Older census data is available in the NCSU Libraries in print and CD-ROM formats. For further information inquire at the Reference desk.
-
STAT-USA
- The job of STAT-USA, an agency in the Commerce Department, is to deliver
vital economic, business, and international trade information produced by the
U.S. Government to you so you can make an important decision that may affect
your business, your career, your community, or your personal finances.
The two primary focuses of STAT-USA are domestic economic information, and
U.S. foreign trade data.
-
LINC
- LINC (Log Into North Carolina), is a service provided by the North Carolina State Data Center. LINC contains statistics relating to North Carolina and its political subdivisions, on such topics as population and housing, vital statistics, law enforcement, employment and income, transportation, and agriculture.
Librarian Contact Information
|