Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: SOCIOLOGY

Finding General Information
Encyclopedias and Guides
Dictionaries

Finding Journal Articles
Electronic Databases
Older Print Indexes
Specialized Indexes
Multi-disciplinary Databases

Finding Books and Journal Titles Using the Online Catalog

Finding Federal Documents

Finding Data and Statistical Information Indexes to Statistical Data
Statistical Abstracts and Compendia
Polls and Surveys
Machine Readable Data Files

Internet Resources

For Additional Information

Sociology Research Guide

Finding Federal Documents

The NCSU Libraries has an extensive collection of Federal government documents. Those that have been published since 1976 can be searched in electronic databases. The most comprehensive of these electronic versions of the Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications is available from OCLC.

The D. H. Hill Library Federal documents collection contains approximately 86% of the publications listed in the Monthly Catalog.

Many of the publications in the library's Federal documents collection are older than 1976 and can not be searched electronically. For material issued prior to 1976, use the printed Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications shelved in the U.S. Documents Reference area on the second floor, north tower, to obtain call numbers for this material.

The Federal documents collection is shelved in the second floor tower stack areas of the library. The collection is arranged by a separate classification system -- the Superintendent of Documents (or SuDoc) classification scheme -- which arranges material by the government agency responsible for the publication. Such an arrangement is not good for browsing since many agencies may have published books on a given topic.

Examples:

Threat posed by the convergence of organized crime, drug trafficking, and terrorism : hearing before the Subcommittee on Crime of the Committee on the Judiciary, House of Representatives, One Hundred Sixth Congress, second session, December 13, 2000. (66 p.)
U.S. Docs. Y 4.J 89/1:106/148

Illegal aliens : INS participation in antigang task forces in Los Angeles (2000, 71 p.)
GAO-01-78
Electronic access; needs an Adobe Acrobat reader.

Homelessness : programs and the people they serve : findings of the National Survey of Homeless Assistance Providers and Clients (1999, 1 v.)
U.S. Docs. HH 1.2:H 75/54/REPORT

Service coordination : elderly persons and people with disabilities (1998?, 137 p).
U.S. Docs. HH 1.6/3:EL 2/5


Librarian Contact Information

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University