Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: SOCIOLOGY

Finding General Information
Encyclopedias and Guides
Dictionaries

Finding Journal Articles
Electronic Databases
Older Print Indexes
Specialized Indexes
Multi-disciplinary Databases

Finding Books and Journal Titles Using the Online Catalog

Finding Federal Documents

Finding Data and Statistical Information Indexes to Statistical Data
Statistical Abstracts and Compendia
Polls and Surveys
Machine Readable Data Files

Internet Resources

For Additional Information

Sociology Research Guide

Finding Data and Statistical Information

The NCSU Libraries collections contain many compilations of data and statistical information. Data and statistics provide evidence and corroboration of assertions and hypotheses.

Indexes to Statistical Data

An electronic source provides an in-depth indexing and abstracting service for statistical publications issued worldwide. This Statistical Universe is made up of three component parts which have their origins in these three printed abstract titles:

Statistical Universe
composed of:
American Statistics Index (ASI), 1974 -
D. H. Hill Reference HA 203 .A44 (6th floor, Reference Stacks)
ASI analyzes publications of Federal government agencies, and indexes the numerical data found in these publications.

Statistical Reference Index (SRI), 1980 -
D. H. Hill Reference Z7554 .U5 S770 (6th floor, Reference Stacks)
SRI provides detailed indexing and abstracting for data collected and published by universities, commercial publishers, trade associations, and state governments.

Index to International Statistics, 1983 - 2004
D. H. Hill Reference Z7551. I54 (6th floor, Reference Stacks)
IIS provides access to data collected by international agencies, primarily the United Nations. This is an excellent source for economic, agricultural and social data, and data on government spending.

Statistical Abstracts and Compendia

A statistical abstract summarizes data from a variety of sources to cover many subjects for a state, region, or country. Some statistical compendia present data on a particular theme.

Statistical Abstract of the United States, 1878 -
D. H. Hill Reference Desk HA202 .A4 (latest year, Reference desk)
D. H. Hill Documents Stacks C 3.134: (2d floor, south tower)
Internet resource:Statistical Abstract, 1995 -

Statistical Abstract of North Carolina Counties
D. H. Hill Reference HA551 .N682 1991 (6th floor, Reference Stacks)

County and City Data Book, 1949 -
D. H. Hill Reference C3.134/2:C83/2/latest year (Ready Reference - Desk)
D. H. Hill Documents Stacks C3.134/2:C83/2/year (2d floor, south tower)
Internet resource: County & City Data Book

State and Metropolitan Area Data Book, 1980 -
D. H. Hill Reference C3.134/5:latest year (Ready Reference - desk)
D. H. Hill Documents Stacks C3.134/5:year (2d floor, south tower)
Internet resource:1997-98 S & MA Data Book

The American Marketplace : Demographics and Spending Patterns
D. H. Hill Reference HA214 .A6 1997 (6th floor, Reference stacks)

Librarian Contact Information

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University