|
Home: SOCIOLOGY
Finding General Information
Encyclopedias and Guides
Dictionaries
Finding Journal Articles
Electronic Databases
Older Print Indexes
Specialized Indexes
Multi-disciplinary Databases
Finding Books and Journal Titles Using the Online Catalog
Finding Federal Documents
Finding Data and Statistical Information
Indexes to Statistical Data
Statistical Abstracts and Compendia
Polls and Surveys
Machine Readable Data Files
Internet Resources
For Additional Information
|
Sociology Research Guide
Finding Journal Articles
Journal articles contain recent research not found in books or encyclopedias.
It's best to use an index to the contents of multiple periodicals, rather than
browsing a journal's issues, to find references to useful articles. It's more
efficient, and will lead you to articles in journals that are not held in our
library. You can obtain articles we don't have through Interlibrary Loan.
Electronic Databases to Sociological Journal Articles
-
SOCIOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS, v. 11-, 1963 to present
- SOCIOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS, v. 1-52, 1952-2004
- D.H. Hill Tower stacks HM1.S58 (4th floor)
- Sociological Abstracts covers the international
literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral
sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to
book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides
abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of
journal articles.
-
SOCIAL SERVICES ABSTRACTS
- Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current
research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including
social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database
abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serials publications and includes abstracts
of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
- SOCIAL SCIENCES CITATION
INDEX
- SSCI is one of three components of the Web of Knowledge. Its
forte is its ability to link to more recent articles that have cited a
previously published article.
-
You may search all three components together: Science Citation Index,
Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities
Index, or you may select a combination of one or two databases on the
opening screen.
Older Print Indexes to Sociological Journal Articles
If your topic relates to a time period before the mid-1960s, you should
consult this printed resource:
-
C.R.I.S.: The Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals in
Sociology,
1895 - 1974
- D. H. Hill Reference H1 .C75 1978 (1t floor, East
Wing)
Librarian Contact Information
|