Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: SOCIOLOGY

Finding General Information
Encyclopedias and Guides
Dictionaries

Finding Journal Articles
Electronic Databases
Older Print Indexes
Specialized Indexes
Multi-disciplinary Databases

Finding Books and Journal Titles Using the Online Catalog

Finding Federal Documents

Finding Data and Statistical Information Indexes to Statistical Data
Statistical Abstracts and Compendia
Polls and Surveys
Machine Readable Data Files

Internet Resources

For Additional Information

Sociology Research Guide

See alsoSee also

Librarian: Jack McGeachy

This guide to information sources in the NCSU Libraries identifies reference books and indexes to journal articles for the following fields in sociology: industrial and organizational sociology, rural sociology, applied sociology, criminal justice, social work, and marriage and the family.

Finding General Information

Before you begin your search, you may want to find an informative summary of your chosen subject area. Such information will give you an overview of the subject which can help you create a framework for organizing your topic. You may also want to find definitions of sociological terms and concepts, as well as explanations of current trends in your area of research. Encyclopedias and dictionaries can help you get started.

Encyclopedias and Guides

These resources give you an overview of the subject matter. Here are some representative titles.

Encyclopedia of Sociology
Encyclopedia of Sociology
D. H. Hill Reference HM425 .E5 2000 (6th floor, Reference stacks)

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
D. H. Hill Reference H41 .I58 2001 (Ready Reference - Reserve Room)

Reader's Guide to the Social Sciences
D. H. Hill Reference H41 .R418 2001 (6th floor, Reference stacks)

Sociology: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources
D. H. Hill Reference HM51 .A27 1997 (6th floor, Reference stacks)

Encyclopedia of Aging and the Elderly
D. H. Hill HQ1061 .R69 1992 (Tower stacks)

Encyclopedia of Organized Crime in the United States
D. H. Hill HV6446 .K43 2000 (Tower stacks)

Encyclopedia of Religion and Society
Encyclopedia of Religion and Society
D. H. Hill Reference BL60 .E53 1998 (6th floor, Reference stacks)

Dictionaries

Use a dictionary if you want to find definitions of terms and concepts.

Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology
Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology
D. H. Hill Reference HM425 .J64 2000 (Ready Reference - Reserve room)

Dictionary of Demography: Terms, Concepts, and Institutions
D. H. Hill Reference HB849.2 P47 1986 (6th floor, Reference stacks)

Key Quotations in Sociology
D. H. Hill Reference HM17 .T56 1996 (6th floor, Reference stacks)

Librarian Contact Information

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University