Online Laboratory Protocols

This page provides links to online sources of laboratory protocols which are used primarily in the life and biomedical sciences.


Cold Spring Harbor Protocols (2006-present)
Provides protocols in subject areas such as bioinformatics, genomics, cell biology, imaging, immunology, molecular biology, neuroscience, plant biology and stem cells.

Current Protocols in Cell Biology (1998-present)
Topics covered include cell cycle analysis, signal transduction, protein trafficking, cellular aging and death, fluorescent protein technology and RNA-based methods.

Current Protocols in Immunology (1991-present)
Provides protocols for induction of immune responses, immunofluorescence and cell sorting, cytokines and their cellular receptors, innate immunity, antigen processing and presentation, and microscopy among other topics.

Current Protocols in Molecular Biology (1987-present)
Current Protocols in Molecular Biology has more than 1,000 procedures. Among the topics covered are preparation and analysis of DNA, RNA, and glycoconjugates, DNA sequencing, protein expression, polymerase chain reaction, gene silencing, and metabolomics.

Current Protocols in Nucleic Acid Chemistry (1999-present)
Includes methods for cross-linking nucleic acids, biophysical analysis of nucleic acids, combinatorial methods in nucleic acid chemistry, RNA folding pathways, and RNA silencing.

Current Protocols in Toxicology (1999-present)
Topics include assessment of cell toxicity, toxicokinetics, glutathione pathway, neurotoxicology, teratology, and oxidative stress.

Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) (2006-present)
JoVE is a peer-reviewed video journal. We subscribe to the Applied Physics, Bioengineering, Chemistry, Clinical and Translational Medicine, General, Immunology and Infection, and Neuroscience sections.

Methods in Enzymology (1955-present)
Each volume covers a specific topic in biochemistry. Some recent topics have been single molecule tools, biothermodynamics, non-natural amino acids, and chemokines.

Springer Protocols (1984-present)
This resource covers biochemistry, bioinformatics, cell biology, genetics, genomics, immunology, molecular medicine, protein science, and plant science. Many of the protocols are from Methods in Molecular Biology and Methods in Molecular Medicine.

These journals specialize in protocols or have a protocols section:

Biotechniques (1996-present)
Novel methods are published as Benchmarks or Reports. Also has a WebWatch section, Tech News and Troubleshooting Forum.

Methods (1993-present)
Each issue is dedicated to a specific topic. Covers biological and medical science.

NAR Methods Online (1999-present)
A category-specific archive of methods papers published in Nucleic Acids Research.

Nature Methods (2004-present)
A research journal which publishes articles on new methods and improvements to established protocols in the life sciences and related areas of chemistry.

Nature Protocols (2006-present)
Composed of peer-reviewed Nature Protocols and an interactive Protocols Network. Protocols Network contains protocols submitted by authors of research articles in Nature journals, protocols submitted by the research community, and protocols submitted by product suppliers. Covers biological and biomedical research areas.

Plant Methods (2005-present)
An open access journal publishing methodology articles and research articles based on the application of a new method.

Also see the database list for more online resources.


Librarian contact information: