1990 Census Reports: Decennial Population and Housing Censuses Research Guide

NCSU Libraries Guide to Census Data Resources - Provides links to online and other electronic data sources.
US Census Bureau 1990 Documents as PDFs

Questionnaire, instructions, etc.
* Questionnaire - from Measuring America (Sept. 2002)
* Facsimiles of Respondent Instructions and Questionnaire Pages - local archived copy of Appendix E, extracted from 1990 CPH2-1-1
* Census '90 Basics - from C3.2:B29/1993, locally scanned copy

1990 Census of Population, General Population Characteristics (CP-1), 54 vols.
U.S. Documents C3.223/6:1990/no.
* GEOGRAPHIES:   United States, Regions, Divisions, States, Counties, County subdivisions, Metropolitan areas, Urbanized areas, Incorporated places, Census designated places, Towns and townships, Census tracts, Block groups, Blocks
* Other geographies included:  Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands
* CONTENTS:   Table Finding Guide - U.S. Summary
* Has a U.S. Summary volume, a volume of each State, the District of Columbia, plus Puerto Rico and Virgin Islands
* Contains 288 tables in the U.S. Summary section grouped by these topics:
  -   Summary characteristics
  -   Population counts by race and Hispanic origin
  -   Age groups by sex
  -   Household characteristics
  -   Group quarters population
  -   Marital status by sex
* A second series of tables presents the same topics for Regions
* Table Finding Guide - States
* Contains 83 tables in each State section grouped by the same topics as the U.S. Summary outline
* Additional volumes present this data for
  -   American Indian and Alaska Native Areas (C3.223/6- 2:1990)
  -   Metropolitan Areas (C3.223/6-3:1990/sec.)
  -   Urbanized Areas (C3.223/6-4:1990/sec.)

1990 Census of Population, Social and Economic Characteristics (CP-2), 54 vols.
U.S. Documents C3.223/7:1990/no.
* Has a U.S. Summary volume, a volume of each State, the District of Columbia, plus Puerto Rico and Virgin Islands
* Table Finding Guide - U.S. Summary
* Contains 189 tables in the U.S. Summary section grouped by these topics:
  -   Summary characteristics
  -   Population counts by race and Hispanic origin
  -   Social characteristics
    .   Age, Ancestry, Disability
    .   Education, Fertility, Household characteristics
    .   Language, Nativity, Older population
    .   Place of birth, Residence in 1985
    .   Veteran status
  -   Economic characteristics
    .   Class of worker, Commuting, Income
    .   Industry, Labor force
    .   Occupation, Older population
    .   Poverty status, Work status
* Table Finding Guide - States
* Contains 235 tables in each State section grouped by the same topics as the U.S. Summary outline
* Additional volumes present this data for
  -   American Indian and Alaska Native Areas (C3.223/7- 2:1990)
  -   Metropolitan Areas (C3.223/7-3:1990/sec.)
  -   Urbanized Areas (C3.223/7-4:1990/sec.)

1990 Census of Population, Subject Reports (CP-3), 7 vols.
U.S. Documents C3.223/10:1990/no.
1. Foreign-Born Population in the United States
2. Ancestry of the Population of the United States
3. Persons of Hispanic Origin of the United States
4. Education in the United States
5. Asians and Pacific Islanders in the United States
6. Characteristics of the Black Population
7. Characteristics of American Indians by Tribe and Language

1990 Census of Population and Housing, Summary Population and Housing Characteristics (CPH-1), 54 vols.
U.S. Documents C3.223/18:1990/no.
* Has a U.S. Summary volume, a volume of each State, the District of Columbia, plus Puerto Rico and Virgin Islands
* Table Finding Guide - U.S. Summary
* Contains 10 tables in the U.S. Summary volume showing population and housing characteristics, and land area for the nation, regions, divisions, states, metropolitan areas, urbanized areas, and American Indian and Alaska Naive areas
* Table Finding Guide - States
* Contains 19 tables in each State volume giving the same data for state, county, county subdivision, place, American Indian and Alaska Naive areas

1990 Census of Population and Housing, Population and Housing Unit Counts (CPH-2), 54 vols.
U.S. Documents C3.223/5:1990/no.
* Has a U.S. Summary volume, a volume of each State, the District of Columbia, plus Puerto Rico and Virgin Islands
* Contains 56 tables in the U.S. Summary volume showing
  -   Numbers of persons at various geographic levels as small as Place and County subdivision
* Table Finding Guide - States
* Contains 24 tables for each State, showing
  -   Numbers of persons at various geographies as small as Place and County subdivision
  -   Population, Earliest to 1990, State, Urban/Rural
  -   Housing units, 1950 to 1990, State, Urban/Rural
  -   Population and Housing units, 1940 to 1990, State, County
  -   Urban and Rural population, 1930 to 1990, by Size of Place
* Other geographies reported: Counties, Metropolitan areas, Urbanized areas

1990 Census of Population and Housing, Population and Housing Characteristics for Census Tracts and Block Numbering Areas (CPH-3), 346 numbered vols.   (Some numbers not published, others issued in multiple parts.)
U.S. Documents C3.223/11:1990/no.
* Has State volumes for the non-metropolitan portions of each State (except New Jersey, unpublished), Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, and volumes for MSAs and PMSAs
* Table Finding Guide - MSA
* For each MSA, the report presents a series of 46 population and housing tables on these topics:
* Population
  -   General characteristics of persons
  -   Race and Hispanic origin
  -   Occupancy, Utilization and Financial characteristics of housing units
  -   Social characteristics of persons
  -   Labor Force and Disability characteristics
  -   Income and Poverty status in 1989
  -   Similar data to that above provided for Whites; Blacks; American Indian, Eskimo and Alutes; Asian and Pacific Islanders; Hispanic origin persons; White, non-Hispanic persons
* Housing
  -   Structural characteristics of housing units
  -   Financial characteristics of housing units
  -   Similar data to that above provided for Whites; Blacks; American Indian, Eskimo and Alutes; Asian and Pacific Islanders; Hispanic origin householders; White, non-Hispanic householders
* Tract maps are filed in a map case in the Reference Department's Map Collection.   Ask for assistance at the Reference Desk.

1990 Census of Population and Housing, Summary Social, Economic, and Housing Characteristics (CPH-5), 54 vols.
U.S. Documents C3.223/23:1990/no.
* Has a U.S. Summary volume, a volume of each State, the District of Columbia, plus Puerto Rico and Virgin Islands
* Table Finding Guide - U.S. Summary
* Contains 13 tables in the U.S. Summary volume showing population and housing characteristics for the nation, regions, divisions, states, metropolitan areas, urbanized areas, and American Indian and Alaska Naive areas
* Table Finding Guide - States
* Contains 23 tables in each State volume giving the same data for state, county, county subdivision, place, American Indian and Alaska Naive areas

1990 Census of Housing, General Housing Characteristics (CH-1), 54 vols.
U.S. Documents C3.224/3:1990/no.
* Has a U.S. Summary volume, a volume of each State, the District of Columbia, plus Puerto Rico and Virgin Islands
* Table Finding Guide - U.S. Summary and Regions
* Contains 207 tables in the U.S. Summary volume showing housing characteristics for the nation, regions, divisions, states, metropolitan areas, urbanized areas, places, county subdivisions, and American Indian and Alaska Naive areas
* Data is presented on these subjects:
  -   Age of householder, Boarded-up status, Contract rent
  -   Duration of vacancy, Householders 65+, Meals with rent
  -   Persons in unit, Persons per room, Rooms, Tenure
  -   Units in structure, Vacancy rate, Vacancy status, Value
* Table Finding Guide - States
* Contains 76 tables in each State volume giving the same data for state, urban/rural, inside/outside metropolitan area, county, county subdivision, place (10,000+), place (2,500-9,999), place (1,000-2.499), American Indian and Alaska Native areas

1990 Census of Housing, Detailed Housing Characteristics (CH-2), 54 vols.
U.S. Documents C3.224/3:1990/no.
* Has a U.S. Summary volume, a volume of each State, the District of Columbia, plus Puerto Rico and Virgin Islands
* Table Finding Guide - U.S. Summary
* Contains 266 tables in the U.S. Summary section with data on these topics:
  -   Bedrooms, Condo units, Householders 65+, Heating fuel
  -   Income in 1989, Gross rent, Kitchen facilities
  -   Mobile homes, Mortgage status, Plumbing facilities
  -   Poverty level, Second mortgage, Sewage disposal, Source of water
  -   Telephone, Tenure, Vacancy status, Vehicles
  -   Year householder moved in, Year structure built
* Table Finding Guide - States
* Contains 105 tables in each State section grouped by the same topics as the U.S. Summary outline
* Additional volumes present this data for
  -   American Indian and Alaska Native Areas
  -   Metropolitan Areas
  -   Urbanized Areas