1980 Census Reports: Decennial Population and Housing Censuses Research Guide

NCSU Libraries Guide to Census Data Resources - Provides links to online and other electronic data sources.
US Census Bureau 1980 Documents as PDFs

Questionnaire, instructions, etc.
* Questionnaire - from Measuring America (Sept. 2002)
* Facsimiles of Questionnaire Pages - from 1980 Census of Population, v. 1, any state pt.
* Facsimiles of Respondent Instructions - from 1980 Census of Population, v. 1, any state pt.

A Note for readers not at NCSU about the call numbers given below.

1980 Census of Population, vol. 1, Characteristics of the Population, Chap. A, Number of Inhabitants, 58 paper reports.
U.S. Documents C3.223/9:1980/v. 1/pt. -
* GEOGRAPHIES:   United States, Regions, Divisions, States, Counties, County subdivisions, Standard consolidated statistical areas (SCSAs), Standard metropolitan statistical areas (SMSAs), Urbanized areas, Incorporated places, Census designated places, towns and townships in some states
* Other geographies included:  Puerto Rico, Guam, Virgin Islands, American Samoa, Northern Mariana Islands, Trust Territory of the Pacific
* CONTENTS:   Contains 36 tables for the United States Summary section, showing
  -   Numbers of persons at various geographic levels as small as Census Tracts
* Contains 13 tables for each State, showing
  -   Numbers of persons at various geographies as small as Place and Town
  -   Population, Earliest to 1980, State
  -   Urban and Rural population, 1930 to 1980
  -   Other geographies reported: Counties, SMSAs, SCSAs, Urbanized areas

1980 Census of Population, vol. 1, Characteristics of the Population, Chap. B, General Population Characteristics, 58 paper reports.
U.S. Documents C3.223/9:1980/v. 1/pt. -
* Table Finding Guide - U.S. Summary
* Contains 38 tables in the U.S. Summary section grouped by these topics:
  -   Age
  -   Fertility
  -   Group quarters relationships
  -   Household characteristics
  -   Marital status
  -   Race (selected groups)
  -   Spanish origin by type
  -   Spanish origin/Not of Spanish origin by race
* Table Finding Guide - States
* Contains 65 tables in each State section grouped by the same topics as the U.S. Summary, Chap B outline, plus a
  -   Summary characteristics and population counts section

1980 Census of Population, vol. 1, Characteristics of the Population, Chap. C, General Social and Economic Characteristics, 58 paper reports.
U.S. Documents C3.223/9:1980/v. 1/pt. -
* Table Finding Guide - U.S. Summary
* Contains 186 tables in the U.S. Summary section grouped by these topics:
  -   Summary social, economic, race, and ethnicity tables
  -   General tables on
    .   Age, Household type, Persons in households, Characteristics of persons 60 and older
  -   Social tables:
    .   Ancestry, Nativity and place of birth, Citizenship
    .   Country of birth, Year of immigration, Residence in 1975
    .   Language spoken at home and ability to speak English
    .   Family type by presence of children, Fertility, Marital history
    .   Type of group quarters
    .   School attendance, Years of school completed
    .   Disability, Veterans status
  -   Economic tables:
    .   Labor force status, Occupation, Industry, Class of worker
    .   Labor force status in 1979, Workers in family in 1979, Weeks worked in 1979
    .   Means of transportation and travel time to work, Private vehicle occupance
    .   Income in 1979, Poverty status in 1979
* Table Finding Guide - States
* Contains 192 tables in each State section, grouped by the same topics as the U.S. Summary, Chap C outline, plus
  -   Economic: Place of work

1980 Census of Population, vol. 1, Characteristics of the Population, Chap. D, Detailed Population Characteristics, 58 paper reports.
U.S. Documents C3.223/9:1980/v. 1/pt. -
* Table Finding Guide - U.S. Summary
* Contains 58 tables in the U.S. Summary section grouped by these topics:
  -   Social characteristics
    .   Nativity, Place of birth, Citizenship
    .   Year of immigration, Country of birth
    .   Language spoken at home and ability to speak English
    .   Residence in 1975, School enrollment, Years of school completed
    .   Veterans status, Marital status and marital history
    .   Household relationship, Group quarters, Families, Fertility
  -   Economic characteristics
    .   Labor force status in 1980, Labor force status in 1979
    .   Occupation, Industry, Place of work
    .   Earnings in 1979, Income in 1979 of persons
    .   Income in 1979 of families, Income in 1979 of households
    .   Poverty status in 1979
* Table Finding Guide - States
* Contains 58 tables in each State section,grouped by the same topics as the U.S. Summary, Chap D outline

1980 Census of Population, vol. 2, Subject Reports, 15 paper reports identified
U.S. Documents C3.223/10:1980/v. 2/#
* Composed of the PC 80-2-# reports which are numbered in such a way that it is not possible to determine completeness of the set.
* The titles given here are those that appear in the Bureau of the Census Catalog, 1982-1988:
  -   (1C) Characteristics of American Indians by tribes and selected areas
  -   (1D) American Indians, Eskimos, and Aleuts on identified reservations and in the historic areas of Oklahoma (excluding urbanized areas)
  -   (1E) Asian and Pacific Islander population in the United States
  -   (2A) Geographical mobility for states and the nation
  -   (2C) Geographical mobility for metropolitan areas
  -   (4B) Living arrangements of children and adults
  -   (4C) Marital characteristics
  -   (4D) Persons in institutions and other group quarters
  -   (6C) Journey to work: metropolitan commuting flows
  -   (6D) Journey to work: characteristics of workers in metropolitan areas
  -   (6E) Place of work
  -   (7C) Occupation by industry
  -   (8B) Earnings by occupation and education
  -   (8D) Poverty areas in large cities, plus Addendum
  -   (9C) Characteristics of the rural and farm-related population

1980 Census of Population and Housing, Census Tracts, in 380 parts
U.S. Documents C3.223/11:1980/pt.
* There is a summary report for the United States; reports for tracted areas of 47 states plus Puerto Rico, and reports for 323 metropolitan areas
* Reports were not issued for the District of Columbia, North Dakota, and Utah
* For each covered SMSA, the report presents a series of 21 population and 18 housing tables on these topics:
* Population
  -   General characteristics
  -   Race and Spanish origin, Ancestry
  -   Social characteristics
  -   Labor Force and Disability characteristics
  -   Income and Poverty status in 1979
  -   Similar data to that above provided for Whites; Blacks; American Indian, Eskimo and Alutes; Asian and Pacific Islanders; Spanish origin persons
* Housing
  -   Occupancy, utilization and financial characteristics
  -   Structural, equipment, and household characteristics
  -   Financial characteristics
  -   Similar data to that above provided for Whites; Blacks; American Indian, Eskimo and Alutes; Asian and Pacific Islanders; Spanish origin persons
* Tract maps are inserted into pockets at the end of each report

1980 Census of Housing, vol. 1, Characteristics of Housing Units, chap. A, General Housing Characteristics, in 58 parts
U.S. Documents C3.224/3:1980/v. 1/chap. A/pt. -
* Reports issued for the United States, for each State, and outlying areas: Puerto Rico, Guam, Virgin Islands, American Samoa, Northern Mariana Islands, Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands
* Table finding guide - U.S. Summary
* Table finding guide - States
* Data is organized by these categories:
  -   Summary characteristics
  -   Total housing units
  -   Total persons
  -   Occupancy characteristics
  -   Vacancy characteristics
  -   Utilization characteristics [rooms, number of persons, persons by plumbing facilities]
  -   Structural characteristics
  -   Financial characteristics

1980 Census of Housing, vol. 1, Characteristics of Housing Units, chap. B, Detailed Housing Characteristics, in 58 parts
U.S. Documents C3.224/3:1980/v. 1/chap. B/pt. -
* Reports issued for the same geographies as chap. A
* Table finding guide - U.S. Summary
* Table finding guide - States
* Data is organized by these categories:
  -   Summary characteristics
  -   Total housing units
  -   Total population
  -   Occupancy and vacancy characteristics
  -   Characteristics of housing units with householder 65+
  -   Utilization characteristics [rooms, number of persons, persons per room, bedrooms]
  -   Structural characteristics
  -   Plumbing characteristics
  -   Equipment and Fuels
  -   Financial characteristics

1980 Census of Housing, vol. 2, Metropolitan Housing Characteristics, in 374 parts
U.S. Documents C3.224/4:1980/#
* There is a summary report for the United States; reports 50 states plus Puerto Rico, and reports for 323 metropolitan areas
* For each covered SMSA, the report presents a series of 68 tables grouped by these categories:
  -   Occupancy characteristics
  -   Utilization characteristics
  -   Structural characteristics
  -   Plumbing characteristics
  -   Equipment and fuel
  -   Financial characteristics
  -   Household characteristics

1980 Census of Housing, vol. 3, Subject Reports, in 7 chapters
U.S. Documents C3.224/10:1980/#
* Report titles:
  -   Housing of the older population
  -   Mobile homes
  -   Condominium housing
  -   Structural characteristics of the housing industry
  -   Space utilization of the housing industry
  -   Mover households

From the 1870 Census forward, the number of published volumes grew each decade through 1980.   A comprehensive list of all these volumes is beyond the scope of this guide that focuses on the volumes addressing population and housing topics.

The Census Bureau issued a modest number of electronic products on CD-Rom and magnetic tape containing 1980 census data.


Note about call numbers for non-NCSU users:   The Census Bureau in 1980 did not issue a final bound compilation of the four, volume 1, Characteristics of the Population chapters. Most libraries have filed these separate chapters at these four SuDoc numbers:

A. Number of Inhabitants - C 3.223/5:
B. General Population Characteristics - C 3.223/6:
C. General Social and Economic Characteristics - C 3.223/7:
D. Detailed Population Characteristics - C 3.223/8:

At NCSU, staff bound the four paper chapters together and assigned the call number C 3.223/9: to the bound volume(s) for each state.