|
Home: POLITICAL SCIENCE
Reference Books
Finding Books
Journal Article Databases
Print Journal Article Indexes
Federal Government Documents
Political Science Websites
Additional Information
|
Political Science Research Guide
Political Science Websites
General Sites
- Political Resources on the
Net
- This website contains "listings of political sites available on the
Internet sorted by country, with links to Parties, Organizations, Governments,
Media and more from all around the world."
- Governments on the WWW
- "Comprehensive database of governmental institutions on the World Wide
Web: parliaments, ministries, offices, law courts, embassies, city councils,
public broadcasting corporations, central banks, multi-national organisations
etc. Includes also political parties."
- "Online since June 1995. Contains more than 17000 entries from more
than 220 countries and territories as of October 2000."
- The site appears to be the work of an individual, Gunnar Anzinger, with a
German base. One should note that the resource now carries the message, "last change: 2002-06-26"
- Political Database of the
Americas
- "The database provides documentary and statistical political information
on Latin America, including constitutions, electoral laws, legislative and
executive branch information and election data."
- The Political Database of the Americas is sponsored by Georgetown
University, the Organization of American States, and the Canadian Foundation
for the Americas.
- Internet Public Library
- "The Internet Public Library (IPL), is a public service organization and
learning/teaching environment at the University of Michigan School of
Information."
- The IPL provides annotated collections "of high quality Internet
resources, selected by IPL staff for their usefulness in providing accurate,
factual information on a particular topic or topics."
- From the linked page navigate through Subject Collections: Government to Political Science, or Government.
- ICPSR: Inter-University
Consortium for Political and Social Research
- "ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science
data for research and instruction, and offers training in quantitative
methods to facilitate effective data use."
- NCSU belongs to ICPSR. Library staff can help you obtain data from the
consortium.
Federal Government Web sites
- Federal Web Locator
- "The Federal Web Locator is ... intended to be the one stop shopping point
for federal government information on the World Wide Web [and] ... is
maintained to bring the cyber citizen to the federal government's doorstep."
- The Fedral Web Locator is a product of the Center for Information Law and
Policy at the Illinois Institute of Technology.
- University of
Michigan's Documents Center
- The University of Michigan's Documents Center has a number of great web
pages. This one is to "Government Resources on the Web," which includes
federal, foreign, and state resources.
- GPO Access
- A service of the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) that offers online
access to a variety of official Federal government information.
- The service provides many databases covering subject areas such as Federal
legislation, laws and regulations, the U.S. Congress and official reports and
documents.
- THOMAS - U.S. Congress on the
Internet
- "Thomas provides access to the full texts of most of the documents created
during the legislative process: bills, reports, Congressional Record, public
laws."
- Dates of coverage vary between files; some go as far back as 1973-74, to
the 93th Congress.
- Foreign Relations of
the United States - Electronic Facsimile
- "The Foreign Relations of the United States series is the official
documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have
been declassified and edited for publication. The series is produced by the
State Department's Office of the Historian and printed volumes are available
from the Government Printing Office."
- "This digital facsimile of Foreign Relations of the United States is a
project of the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries in collaboration with
the University of Illinois at Chicago Libraries. This is an incomplete run
from 1863-1958 with missing volumes being added as they can be acquired and
processed."
- Country
Studies
- "The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the
historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security
systems and institutions of countries throughout the world and examines the
interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural
factors."
- "This website contains the on-line versions of books previously published
in hard copy by the Federal Research
Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area
Handbook Program sponsored by the U.S. Department of Army."
- Many of the Army Country Studies are available in the NCSU Libraries
federal documents collection at D101.22:550-no.
- FedStats
- "The gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies."
North Carolina Web Sites
- NC @ Your Service
- "The Official North Carolina State web site is a gateway to information
and services for Citizens, Businesses and Employees of North Carolina."
- "The NC @ Your Service portal categorizes government information and
services of the state of North Carolina so that you are able to locate what
you want to do without knowing which government agency or organization is
involved."
- North Carolina
General Assembly
- The site includes House and Senate membership lists, Documents, Bill
information, Geography and Representation, Statutes, additional NC
information, Latest staff reports, and a link to the site of last year's
session.
- School of Government, UNC-
CH
- This site provides access to the resources of the Institute of Government,
the largest and most diversified of the university-based governmental training
and research organizations in the United States. ... From here, you can
connect to many local, state, and federal government information resources.
Librarian Contact Information
|