|
Home: POLITICAL SCIENCE
Reference Books
Finding Books
Journal Article Databases
Print Journal Article Indexes
Federal Government Documents
Political Science Websites
Additional Information
|
Political Science Research Guide
Print Journal Article
Indexes
Among the databases listed in the section, Journal article databases, three provide references to articles from the 1970s to the present, and another one reaches back to the mid-1950s in its coverage.
But suppose you are interested in a political or world event that happened as
recently as the Korean War or the civil rights movement. Most of the
above sources do not include journal citations from the time period these
events took place. The electronic databases will offer you references to
articles written at a more recent date about these topics, and these sources
will be valuable to your research. But you may miss very significant
citations if you limit yourself to only more recently compiled electronic
indexes.
Generally, the older your topic the greater the probability you will miss
valuable material if you do not consider the following sources:
- C.R.I.S.: The Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals in Political Science, 1886-1974
- D. H. Hill Reference Z7161 .C70 (6th floor, Reference Stacks)
- C.R.I.S. has author and subject access to about 200 major United
States and British political science periodicals.
- Volumes are arranged by broad topics, and subdivided by more precise
subject categories.
- PAIS bulletin, v. 1 - v. 77, 1915 to 1990
- D. H. Hill Tower Stacks Z7163 .P9 (9th floor)
- This bibliography lists by subject "current books, pamphlets, periodical
articles, government documents ... in the fields of economics and public
affairs." It covers selected articles from over 1000 periodicals.
- All the cited material is in English, and "emphasis is placed upon factual
and statistical information."
- A Cumulative Subject Index to the Public Affairs Information Service
Bulletins, 1915-1974 is also shelved in 9th floor stacks at Z7153
.P92 1977.
- ABC Pol Sci: A Bibliography of Contents: Political Science and
Government, v. 1 - v. 32, 1969 to 2000
- D. H. Hill Reference Z7161
.A214, v. 1-14 (6th floor, Reference Stacks)
- D. H. Hill Tower Stacks Z7161
.A214, v. 15-32 (9th floor)
- This resource contains the "table of contents pages of more than 300
journals, U.S. and foreign, [covering] political science, government,
international relations, public policy, and related terms."
- The bibliography includes cumulative five-year indexes.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, one of the journal article databases, covers the latter years of this paper resource.
Librarian Contact Information
|