Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: POLITICAL SCIENCE

Reference Books

Finding Books

Journal Article Databases

Print Journal Article Indexes

Federal Government Documents

Political Science Websites

Additional Information

Political Science Research Guide

Federal Government Documents

The NCSU Libraries has an extensive collection of Federal government documents.  Those that have been published since 1976 can be searched in electronic databases, including the libraries' on-line catalog.  The most comprehensive of these electronic versions of the Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications is available from OCLC.

The D. H. Hill Library Federal documents collection contains approximately 86% of the publications contained in the Monthly Catalog.

Many of the publications in the library's Federal documents collection are older than 1976 and can not be searched electronically.  For material issued prior to 1976, use the printed Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications shelved in the U.S. Documents Reference area on the 2d floor, north tower, to obtain call numbers for this material.

The Federal documents collection is shelved in the 2d floor tower stack areas of the library.  The collection is arranged by a separate classification system -- the Superintendent of Documents (or SuDoc) classification scheme -- which arranges material by the government agency responsible for the publication.  Such an arrangement is not good for browsing the collection since many agencies may have published books on a given topic.

The caution not to rely solely on electronic databases to locate journal articles -- the fact that they do not access older material -- is equally relevant with respect to government documents.  The federal government is releasing more information only in electronic format (as the examples below illustrate), but no agency is converting older government information in a comprehensive, systematic manner.  To be comprehensive in your searches for research sources, you should not overlook the older printed indexes to government documents.

Examples:

The 9/11 Commission report : final report of the National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States. (2004, 567 p.)
U.S. Docs. Y 3.2:T 27/2/FINAL
Electronic access: GPO Access link

Russia's transition to democracy and U.S.-Russia relations : unfinished business : hearing before the Subcommittee on Europe of the Committee on International Relations, House of Representatives, One Hundred Eighth Congress, first session, September 30, 2003. (2003, 54 p.)
U.S. Docs. Y 4.IN 8/16:R 92/13
Electronic access: GPO PURL

The Middle East in 2015 : the impact of regional trends on U.S. strategic planning / Judith Share Yaphe. Washington, D.C. : National Defense University Press (2003, 237 p.)
U.S. Docs. D 5.402:M 58
Electronic access: GPO PURL

The emerging American voter : an examination of the increase in the Black vote in November 1998 / U.S. Bureau of the Census, Population Division working paper ; no. 44 (2001, 1 vol.)
U.S. Docs. Microfiche C 3.223/27:44

The Philippines : present political status and its role in the new Asia : hearing before the Subcommittee on East Asian and Pacific Affairs of the Committee on Foreign Relations, United States Senate, One Hundred Seventh Congress, first session, March 6, 2001. (2001, 39 p.)
U.S. Docs. Y 4.F 76/2:S.HRG.107-20

Report on the parliamentary elections in Kyrgyzstan, February-March 2000 / Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe (2000, 13 p.)
U.S. Docs. Y 4.SE 2:K 99/2000

The News media and peace processes : the Middle East and northern Ireland / U.S. Institute of Peace (2001, 54 p.)
U.S. Docs. Y 3.P 31:19/NO.37

Country reports on human rights practices
U.S. Docs. Y 4.F 76/2:H 88/12/yr., 1979 to date

Librarian Contact Information

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University