|
Home: POLITICAL SCIENCE
Reference Books
Finding Books
Journal Article Databases
Print Journal Article Indexes
Federal Government Documents
Political Science Websites
Additional Information
|
Political Science Research Guide
Journal Article Databases
The Libraries Database Finder can help you select the best database for articles and data. You may select a subject, such as political science or public administration, from the pull-down menu or go to the alphabetical list to connect to a specific database.
Journal article databases may contain the complete texts of articles, or they
may only provide you with bibliographic information sufficient for you to
locate the article itself. The source of the article may be on the web,
in the library's book stacks, or in our Microforms Room. You will also
find references in databases to journal articles that are not held by our
library.
When you locate a reference to an article that you want (and it is not
available electronically via a link in the journal database), you should first
search the journal's title in the library's catalog. This search
will tell you whether the journal is held by NCSU; the search may provide a
link to electronic holdings, and will give you the call number and location of
physical holdings of the title.
If a catalog search is unsuccessful, you should next look for the journal's
title in the library's E-journal finder. If you still are unable to locate a source of the article, consult a reference librarian, and consider requesting the article via Interlibrary loan.
These are the most important databases in which to search for articles,
reports, and statistics related to political science:
- PAIS International, 1972 to present
- PAIS International is a bibliographic index to the literature of public
policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. It indexes
journal articles; books; government documents; statistical compilations;
committee reports; directories; serials; reports of public, intergovernmental,
and private organizations; and most other forms of printed literature from all
over the world. Updated quarterly.
-
Social Sciences Citation Index, 1956 to
present
- The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database, with
searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social
sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 scholarly journals spanning 50
disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from
over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.
-
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
, 1975 to present
- WPSA is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts
(1975-2000), and ABC POL SCI, (1984-2000). The database provides
citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in
political science and its complementary fields, including international
relations, law, and public administration/policy.
- The link takes you to a page with a number of databases. Scroll
down, check WPSA, and click on "Advanced Search."
- Columbia International Affairs
Online, 1991 to present
- "Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is designed to be a
comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs.
It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working
papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from
non-governmental organizations, foundation-funded research projects, and
proceedings from conferences. It also has more than 160 links to
international affairs centers, institutes, and resources; U.S., international,
and foreign government sites; environmental studies Web pages; and news media
services."
-
LexisNexis Academic
- The LexisNexis service offers access to full-text databases that cover
business, company, financial, legal and news information. Databases are
updated frequently, some as often as every 15 minutes. Access is
restricted to faculty, students, and staff of NCSU.
Choose the "Reference" category, and within that pick "Country
Profiles." You're next asked to enter a country name, and you'll get a
retrieval set with 10-15 documents on these topics: Overview, Events, Facts &
Figures, Biographies, Organizations, Documents, and a large Country Profile
file. Also in the "Reference" category is a link to the "World Almanac"
which might be helpful.
Choose the "Legal Resources" category, and within that pick the "Law
Reviews" section which indexes major legal periodicals.
On the front page of LexisNexis Academic, using the "Guided News Search,"
you can find law-related articles with a more general, current awareness,
focus.
- Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government
Publications, 1976 to present
- Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, 1895 to
2002
- D. H. Hill Reference GP 3.6: (U.S. Documents Reference, 2d floor, north tower)
- This is the primary bibliography of publications printed by U.S.
government agencies. It is available in an electronic database, 1976 to
the present; but earlier volumes are available only in paper.
Librarian Contact Information
|