Plant Intellectual Property:
Information and Resources @ NCSU
Special Online Exhibit by NCSU Libraries:
Highlights some of the patents developed by faculty at the university
and selected items from NCSU Libraries’ rich collection of materials
relating to patents. Also explores the library’s role as a patent
depository library under an agreement with the U.S. Patent and Trademark
Office (PTO).
Information on:
Information on Patents and Trademarks from the NCSU Libraries
NCSU Libraries is a Patent Depository Library, offering support and resources
to NC State personnel and the general public. The Patent and Trademark Depository
Librarian and most depository materials are located in the D. H. Hill Library.
Patents and Trademarks
This web site contains a wealth of information from basic descriptions of intellectual
property to detailed descriptions of how to do patent searches.
Patent count by author primary affiliation: January 1997-December 2005
Statistics
from the NC State University Authors Database, created and maintained by NCSU
Libraries.
OTT . . ."promotes collaboration with for-profit industry partners to move
university discoveries from the lab to the marketplace. The OTT prepares, negotiates,
monitors, and enforces licenses, options, and other intellectual property agreements
in support of university innovations."
The OTT home page includes
updated counts of the number of patents (610 as of 4/30/2008) and patent applications
held by NC State University. Can also obtain a complete list of these patents
and applications from links on this page.
NC State Policies, Regulations & Rules
Plant Varieties at NC State
Includes a link to plant variety release guide.
Annual Report 2007
Includes an article on patents at NC State with a list of patents received
in 2007.
Information on Intellectual Property from the Office of Legal Affairs
Intellectual Property: Patents, Copyrights, Trade Secrets, Trademarks
Detailed introduction to the different types of intellectual property with
reference to NC State applications and policies.
Information from the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, and/or the
Cooperative Extension Service
Intellectual
property is important to North Carolina Agribusiness
Article in the NC State Economist,
1998
An introduction to intellectual property in general, and issues specific to
agriculture.
Limiting Infringement Liability for Handling Protected Seed Varieties
An extension publication written for growers and custom seed cleaners
and conditioners. Describes laws governing plant protection, plant variety
protection and utility patents, and steps to minimize the likelihood of infringement
liability.
Global Plant Breeding
A website created to provide information and
support for plant breeders all over the world, working on all crop plants,
and working in public service and private industry.
Patents,
Inventions and Innovations
A list of the latest inventions or innovations developed by faculty, students,
researchers, administrators and alums of the College of Agriculture and Life
Sciences. (Undated.)
Propagating Muscadine Grapes
How to propagate muscadine grapes by cuttings
and layering.
Discusses restrictions on propagating patented grapes—includes lists
of patented and nonpatented muscadine grape cultivars.
Prepared by Connie Fisk,
Extension Associate, Muscadine Grapes, Dept. of Horticultural Science;
Benny Bloodworth, Agricultural Research Technician, Dept. of Plant Pathology;
Bill Cline, Extension Plant Pathologist, Dept. of Plant Pathology;
Whit Jones, Extension Agent, Horticulture, N.C. Cooperative Extension,
Duplin County Extension Center; all at N.C. State University.
Retail Reflections: Profiting by Propagating
Article from Greenhouse Grower about vegetative annuals and patents. Written
by James L. Gibson and Lane Greer, NCSU Floriculture Research.
Re-inventing Sweetshrubs at MHC
Extension information page. "Plant breeders at NC State University
have been busy re-inventing our native sweetshrub. Dr Tom Ranney, Professor
of Horticulture at the Mountain Horticultural Crops Research Station near Fletcher,
NC, has created a new form of sweetshrub for gardeners to enjoy."
Selecting, Evaluating, Marketing, and Servicing New Tree Cultivars
Article on introducing new tree cultivars, including patenting information;
by Brent W. Marable of Tree Introductions, Inc. Made available by NC Cooperative
Extension.
Technology
Transfer CALS
Highlights technology transfer activities.
• In FY 2007, faculty filed
16 invention disclosures, 29 patent applications and were issued 9 U.S. patents
and one foreign patent
• 107 new plant varieties developed in the College of Agriculture and
Life Sciences licensed to nurseries and seed producers nationwide since 1999
Understanding Seed Laws and Regulations
a chapter from Small Grains Production Guide, 2004-05,
prepared by the North Carolina Cooperative Extension Service
Vegetable Cultivar Descriptions for North America
A list of the North American vegetable cultivars compiled from
previous vegetable cultivar lists were published in the Proceedings of the American
Society for Horticultural Science and in HortScience. The original
lists are based on the database of cultivars registered with the American Seed
Trade Association and published descriptions from scientific journals
and seed catalogs. Crop species are listed alphabetically, and cultivars are
listed alphabetically within each species.
University press releases featuring NC State faculty:
- Researchers
Release New Blueberry Varieties
"College-based researchers, working through the Horticultural Crops Research
Station at Castle Hayne, have released 20 blueberry varieties in the past 15
years. And they just released three more. ... Our research tends to concentrate
on developing cultivars adapted to mechanical harvesting,” says Dr. Jim
Ballington, horticulturist and plant breeder in the College of Agriculture and
Life Sciences."
- NC State Researcher Adds Variety to State Tomato Crops
"Dr. Randy Gardner for helping make it so good. The North Carolina State
University tomato plant breeder has helped create and improve almost two-dozen
tomato varieties in North Carolina. ...A professor of horticultural science,
Gardner has developed 18 named varieties during his career, many specifically
developed for growers in North Carolina. These include the successful Mountain
Spring, which is harvested in June, and Mountain Fresh, a main season fruit
available in late July."
- NC State Ornamental Sweetpotato a Hit with Landscape Industry
"Dr. Craig Yencho, associate professor, and Ken Pecota, researcher, both in the
NC State Department of Horticultural Science, are members of the team that
developed the “Sweet Caroline” series of ornamental sweetpotatoes
that is taking the landscape industry by storm. The team also includes Cynthia
Pierce, research assistant, and Newell Hancock, research associate."
- 'Sweet Caroline' Variety Brightens Landscapes
"...The resulting work led to the creation of the "Sweet Caroline" series
of ornamental sweet potato vines. After initial resistance from nurseries,
the ornamental plant is a huge success, frequently turning up in landscapes
and as houseplants. ...Four varieties were introduced initially in 2002;
10 more have followed."
Miscellaneous Information
Sponsored
Research Report: Data Summary, 10 yr—1997-2007
Includes a summary of the numbers of different
types of patents received each year during a 10 year period, 1997-2007.
NC State Start-up Bets on Duckweed for Human Protein Production
Dr. Anne-Marie Stomp, associate professor of forestry at NC State, obtained
a patent on the technique and launched Biolex Inc., the first plant biotechnology
company to grow out of NC State laboratories,
Dec. 8, 1998.
University Patent Agreement and Copyright Procedures
Section 3.22 from the
Graduate Student Handbook, Chapter 3: Matriculation to Graduation.
Librarian Contact Information
|