Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: PHYSICS

Finding journals

Selecting databases

Software

Websites

Need More Help?

Physics Research Guide

Choosing a database for your research

The primary databases for physics research are found on the Libraries' physics subject page. Databases index journal articles, trade articles, conference proceedings, book chapters, patents, technical reports, theses, etc. Learning to find information in databases is an essential research skill.

So how do you pick which one to use? Selecting the right database is a very important first step in conducting research. Bear in mind some basic tenets of databases:

  • Use the right tool database for the right job search.
  • No database has all the information in your field. All of them have different coverage and features. Thorough research will involve multiple databases.
  • We definitely wish the database you need had [name of feature that you want]. Maybe it will someday, or it does now and librarians can help you find it. Feel free to ask.

A summary of the primary physics databases is below. Any of them might be a good place to start with your searching.

Database Coverage Strengths Help and Tips
Inspec Core published physics literature Saved searches, alerts, more document types (e.g., conference proceedings) and treatment types (i.e., review articles)  
Web of Science (AKA Science Citation Index Expanded) All science Citation tracking, multidisciplinary

ISI Help pages
WoS Tips

arXiv Pre-print literature Most current research arXiv help
Spires HEP High energy physics Variety of literature HEP Help
Cern Document Server (CDS) Particle physics Variety of literature, some full text CERN search tips
NASA ADS Astrophysics Comprehensive astrophysical coverage, full text ADS Help pages

 

The core published physics literature is indexed in INSPEC, but INSPEC does not track physics articles that appear in primarily non-physics journals. Many other databases do track articles of interest to the physics community. If you are working in an interdisciplinary area (i.e. surface science, materials science, nanoscience) and need a literature database in another field, use the Database Finder or contact Josh Wilson for assistance. In addition to INSPEC, most current physics literature is accessible through the ArXiv preprints database and Stanford's Spires-HEP database.

Some databases contain full-text articles, while others just contain abstracts. However, you may be able to connect to an online version of the article if the Libraries subscribes to that journal electronically. Look for the symbol Find Full-Text via SFX in the abstract and click on it to see if we subscribe to that particular journal and if we have it in print, online, or both. (More information on this tool here.) In the preprint databases, the fulltext article is already there. For Spires-HEP, newer articles are linked, but older articles may not be available online. In that case, check the catalog to see if NCSU holds the journal in question.


Other Physics Databases

Other physics databases are listed on the physics subject page. Read the descriptions to understand the coverage. If you have questions or suggestions for additions to the physics subject page, please contact the librarian.


Librarian Contact Information

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University