Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: PHYSICS

Finding journals

Selecting databases

Software

Websites

Need More Help?

Physics Research Guide

Use the table below to identify a research tool appropriate for your work. Locate the type of information you'd like in the left (grey) column, and see what's available within the major tools for physics research, linked along the top (blue). The 'Other Databases' column represents all manner of library and internet databases. Use the Selecting Databases portion of this guide to learn more about physics databases.

 

TOOLS

What are you looking for?

Library catalog

Web of Science *

Inspec

Browse Subjects Page

Other databases

Books
(or e-books)

The catalog has all books and e-books at NCSU

 

 

Books

Reference tools (eg, handbooks)

Find them with Worldcat or Amazon.com, then use Tripsaver to borrow

Articles

 

Best sciences coverage

Best physics coverage

Databases

Several others

Journals (instead of individual articles)

Search by journal title (click to see example)

 

 

Journals page

Journal Citation Reports

Ulrich’s

Conference proceedings

Search by title of conference (click to see example)

Some coverage

Extensive coverage

 

Other physics databases, Conference Papers Index (esp. pre-1995), WWW (1)

Formulae

Search by type of problem or subject

 

Try searching for review articles (limit by Treatment Type)

Online handbooks in Knovel

WWW (2)

Constants

Search by type of problem, or general example

 

 

Try an appropriate handbook on the Reference Tools page

Constants

Unit Conversion

Tables

Search by subject, or general example

Search for research on the data you need

Search for research on the data you need

ICT
Smithsonian
CRC
...More...

WWW (3)

Problems and exercises

Best resource! Search by subject. Schaum’s Outlines are examples.

 

 

Search by type of problem in reference tools

WWW (4)

Software

Books are available on nearly any software application

Search for articles on applications

Search for articles on applications

Computer Science guide

WWW (5)

NCSU Theses/ Dissertations

Use Advanced Search, change format

 

 

 

Find in Dissertation abstracts, request through Tripsaver

Other Theses/ Dissertations

Unlikely to be in our collection

 

 

 

Find in Dissertation abstracts, request through Tripsaver

Professional Society Information

Some; search specific society as a keyword

 

 

 

WWW (6)

 

Library catalog

Web of Science *

Inspec

Browse Subjects Pages

Other databases

*Web of Science is sometimes known as Science Citation Index Expanded. That is actually the original name of the database, but it is now housed under the umbrella of ISI's Web of Science product. [Back to top.]

WWW Notes

WWW implies that the best information is on the internet, not necessarily within the library. See the notes below to determine how to proceed.

Notes
Try searching the web for the name of the conference. You may get more information about where the proceedings are published. Most recent conferences have web sites.
Danger! You may find trustworthy lecture notes containing formulae, you may find someone's hopelessly faulty homework. Trust published books and reference material first, but the web can be a good source of formulae and equations if you have a discerning eye. Take note of who is hosting the web site. Good: universities, physics societies, governments.
Other sources are recommended, but if you need a more specific table, try searching online. Be wary of people posting their own unrefereed research.
Books are highly recommended for finding problems and exercises examples. You may find examples online, too, but heed the warning in note (2).
Clearly, there is an abundance of software assistance online. Manuals tend to be print only, but there are numerous help sites for different software packages.
Professional Societies like the Institute of Physics and the American Institute of Physics have internet homes. The library may have membership directories (but check online first), or publications.


Librarian Contact Information

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University