Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: PHILOSOPHY

Major Philosophy Websites

General Philosophy Encyclopedias

Specialized Philosophy Encyclopedias

Finding Journal Articles

Major Philosophy Journals

Finding Books Using the Online Catalog

Citing Sources

Philosophy Research Guide

Specialized Philosophy Encyclopedias

Following are some selected encyclopedias and dictionaries that focus on a specific component of philosophy or a particular approach to the field.

Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Philosophers, (Brown, ed.) Routledge, 1996.
D. H. Hill Reference Stacks - B804 .B54 1996

Blackwell Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Social Thought, (Outhwaite and Bottomore, eds.) Blackwell, 1993.
D. H. Hill Reference Stacks - H41 .B53 1993

A Companion to Contemporary Political Philosophy, (Goodin, ed.) Blackwell, 1993.
D. H. Hill Reference Stacks - JA71 .C565 1993

A Companion to Epistemology, (Dancy and Sosa, eds.) Blackwell, 1992.
D. H. Hill Library - BD161 .C637 1992

A Companion to Metaphysics, (Kim and Sosa, ed.) Blackwell, 1995.
D. H. Hill Reference Stacks - BD111 .C626 1995

Contemporary Philosophy of the Mind: An Annotated Bibliography (David Chalmers, Department of Philosophy, University of Arizona)

Dictionary of Concepts in the Philosophy of Science (Durbin, ed.) Greenwood Press, 1988.
D. H. Hill Reference Stacks - Q174.7 .D87

Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (Kelly, ed.) Oxford University Press, 1998.
D. H. Hill Reference Stacks - BH56 .E53 1998

Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics (Chadwick, ed.) Academic Press, 1998.
D. H. Hill Reference Stacks - BJ63 .E44 1997

Encyclopedia of Bioethics (Reich, ed.), 2004.
D. H. Hill Reference Stacks - QH332 .E52

Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy (Zeys, ed.) Greenwood, 1997.
D. H. Hill Reference Stacks - B163 .E53 1997

The Encyclopedia of Eastern Philosophy and Religion Buddhism, Hinduism, Taoism, Zen Shambhala, (Schuhmacher et al, ed.) 1994.
D. H. Hill Reference Stacks - BL1005 .L4813 1994

Encyclopedia of Ethics Garland Pub., 2001.
D. H. Hill Library - BJ63 .E45 2001


Librarian Contact Information

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University