Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Finding Older Articles

General purpose databases for finding older articles

Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 (online)
1 9th Century Masterfile (online)
Web of Science contains three databases -- Science Citation Index Expanded (1945-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present). Web of Science databases contain more than the date ranges listed above, however. Because these databases track citations -- who cited whom -- a relatively recent article could cite a 100 year old article, thus causing one of these databases to list articles much older than 1945.

Print indexes

Most databases index articles only from recent years. If you are looking for articles that are older than the date range of the relevant databases, consider these print indexes:

Agriculture and Life Sciences
Design
Education and Psychology
Engineering
General
Humanities & Social Science
Management, Business, & Economics
Medicine
Physical and Mathematical Sciences
Science (general)
Textiles
Veterinary Medicine

Agriculture and Life Sciences

Bibliography of Agriculture
Agricultural Index
Biological Abstracts
Plant Breeding Abstracts
Food Technology Abstracts

Design

There is no need to consult print indexes for older articles on art, architecture, and design. The online databases sufficiently cover older articles in these areas.

Education and Psychology

Education
Education Index (1929-1998)

Psychology
The PsychInfo online database goes back to 1887, so there is no need to use print indexes.

Engineering

Compendex, an online database, goes back to 1884. Also see:
International Civil Engineering Abstracts
ASCE Publications Abstracts (1966-1982)
ISMEC Bulletin (1973-1987)
ISMEC Mechanical Engineering Abstracts (1988-1993)
Theoretical Chemical Engineering Abstracts (1964-1990)
Agricultural Engineering Abstracts (1976-1995)
Industrial Arts Index (1913 - 1957)
Applied science & technology index (1958-1995)

General

19th Century Masterfile (online)
Nineteenth century readers' guide to periodical literature (1890-1899)
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals (1824-1900)

Humanities & Social Science

Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities Journals (1802-1974)
Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals (1886-1974)
C.R.I.S.: The Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals in History (1838-1974)
MLA International Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures (1956- present)
MLA American Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures (1921-1955)
I nternational Index to Periodicals

Social Sciences & Humanities Index -- Vol. 19 (Apr. 1965 - Mar. 1966) - Vol. 27 (Apr. 1973 - Mar. 1974)

Former title: International Index -- Vol. 14 (Apr. 1955- Mar. 1958)- Vol. 18 (Apr. 1964 - Mar. 1965)
Later: Split into Humanities Index and Social Sciences Index

 

Law and Government

Index to United States Government Periodicals (1970-1987)
PAIS Bulletin (1915-1990)
Statistical Reference Index (1980 - present)
Other government periodicals are indexed selectively in various subject indexes, e.g., Education Index, Biological Abstracts, etc.

Management, Business, & Economics

Accounting Articles
Business Periodicals Index
Wall Street Journal Index
New York Times Index
Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 (online)

Medicine

Use PubMed, an online database which goes back to the mid 60s.

Physical and Mathematical Sciences

Chemistry
The SciFinder Scholar database contains all of Chemical Abstracts, so there is no need to use print indexes.

Math & Statistics

B ibliotheca Mathematica (1887-1899)
B ullettino di bibliografia e di storia delle scienze matematiche e fisiche (1868-1887)
S tatistical Theory and Method Abstracts (1964-2000)

Physics

S cience Abstracts (1898-1902)
S cience Abstracts. Section A Physics (1903-1940)
P hysics Abstracts (1941-1995)
B ullettino di bibliografia e di storia delle scienze matematiche e fisiche (1868-1887)

Science (general)

Catalogue of Scientific Papers compiled by the Royal Society of London (coverage back to 1800)

Textiles

Textile Technology Digest (1945-present)

Veterinary Medicine

I ndex Veterinarius
V eterinary Bulletin
NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University