Food Composition and Nutrition Tables
Finding Journal Articles
Print Indexes and Abstracts
U.S. Government Information and U.S. Patents
Nutrition Information on the Internet
Internet Gateways and General Guides
Organizations and Nutrition Departments
Research Grants and Projects
Other Databases and Trade Catalogs
Full Text Resources
Nutrition: Information on the Internet
- Nutrition.gov (http://www.nutrition.gov/)
"A gateway to reliable information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety for consumers, educators and health professionals."
Includes links to
- ChooseMyPlate.gov (http://www.choosemyplate.gov/index.html)
SuperTracker--"can help you plan, analyze, and track your diet and physical activity. Find out what and how much to eat; track foods, physical activities, and weight; and personalize with goal setting, virtual coaching, and journaling."
- What's In the Foods You Eat Search Tool (http://www.ars.usda.gov/foodsearch)
A user-friendly, searchable database "where users can view a 60-nutrient profile for each of more than 13,000 foods," including fast food items and packaged food mixes.
The data are provided in commonly consumed portion sizes and weights.
- Arbor Nutrition Guide (http://www.arborcom.com/)
The guide is organized into six main sections: Searching--for nutrition search engines, Home Pages--links to nutrition organizations,
Clinical Nutrition, Applied Nutrition, Food Science, and Food.
Science Research Guide (http://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/foodsafety)
- The World Wide Web Virtual Library--Agriculture (http://cipm.ncsu.edu/agVL/)
- Center for Food Safety & Applied Nutrition (CFSAN) (http://www.fda.gov/food/). Food
and Drug Administration.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) (http://www.cdc.gov/)
- Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) (http://www.nal.usda.gov/fnic/)
- USDA Agricultural Marketing Service (http://www.ams.usda.gov/).
As one of its functions, this service "includes six commodity programs--Cotton, Dairy, Fruit and Vegetable, Livestock and Seed,
Poultry, and Tobacco. The programs employ specialists who provide standardization, grading and market news services for those commodities."
- USDA Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (http://www.aphis.usda.gov/)
- USDA's Current Research Information System (CRIS) Web site (http://cris.csrees.usda.gov/)
- USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS) (http://www.fsis.usda.gov/)
The FSIS is "the public health agency in the U.S. Department
of Agriculture responsible for ensuring that the nation's commercial
supply of meat, poultry, and egg products is safe, wholesome,
and correctly labeled and packaged." The site includes news
releases, recall updates, HACCP-related documents, and food safety
information for consumers
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration (http://www.fda.gov/)
- www.FoodSafety.gov A "gateway to government food safety information."
- Food Safety Website (http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/depts/foodsci/agentinfo/)
North Carolina Cooperative Extension Service at NC State University.
A gateway to food safety sites, including a section on "hot
- NC Cooperative Extension (http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/).
Includes a link to the list of NCCES County Extension Centers (http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/counties/).
- State Partners (http://www.csrees.usda.gov/qlinks/partners/state_partners.html)
A "directory of land-grant universities which are state partners of the Cooperative State Research, Education, and Extension Service."
- Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools (RePORT).
A searchable database of biomedical research projects funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Food and Drug Administration (FDA), and other agencies.
- NSF Funded Research.
Information about research projects that the National Science Foundation (NSF) has funded since 1989.
- USDA's Current Research Information System (CRIS) Web site.
Is the USDA's "documentation and reporting system for ongoing and recently completed research projects in agriculture, food and nutrition, and forestry."
- Community of Science (COS) (http://www.cos.com/services/)
- COS Funding Opportunities.
Contains detailed information for more than 20,500 available research grants worldwide. Updated daily.
- Funded Research (via Community of Science). Search to see what projects have
been funded by the NSF, NIH, USDA and other organizations. (Note: This database is for Community of Science members only.
Accessible only via one's personal COS Workbench.)
- AgZines: a Harvest of
Free Agricultural Journals (http://usain.org/agzines.html)
Produced by the United States Agricultural Information Network
(USAIN), a "compilation of agricultural journals that are
available free on the web. Formerly known as Tomato Juice, this
list collects web sites" that are related to the field of
agriculture and related sciences
- Core Historical Literature
of Agriculture (CHLA) (http://chla.library.cornell.edu/)
A "core electronic collection of agricultural texts published
between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth
- E-Answers (http://e-answers.adec.edu/)
A searchable Web site that provides access to full text documents
on a wide range of Extension or Outreach-oriented subjects. The
work is by Extension Service and Agricultural Experiment Station
professionals at several U.S. land-grant universities.
To find other Web sites, click on Netscape's Search button and use one of the many available search engines. For searching tips
and comparisons of the features of various search engines, see:
For examples showing how to cite Internet resources, see Citing
Electronic Resources from the Internet Public Library.
Librarian Contact Information