Information on the Internet: Nutrition Research Guide

Internet Gateways and General Guides

Government Agencies

Cooperative Extension

Organizations and Nutrition Departments

Organizations

Nutrition Departments

Research Grants and Projects

  • Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools (RePORT).
    A searchable database of biomedical research projects funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Food and Drug Administration (FDA), and other agencies.
  • NSF Funded Research.
    Information about research projects that the National Science Foundation (NSF) has funded since 1989.
  • USDA's Current Research Information System (CRIS) Web site.
    Is the USDA's "documentation and reporting system for ongoing and recently completed research projects in agriculture, food and nutrition, and forestry."
  • Community of Science (COS) (http://www.cos.com/services/)
    • COS Funding Opportunities.
      Contains detailed information for more than 20,500 available research grants worldwide. Updated daily.
    • Funded Research (via Community of Science). Search to see what projects have been funded by the NSF, NIH, USDA and other organizations. (Note: This database is for Community of Science members only. Accessible only via one's personal COS Workbench.)

Other Databases and Trade Catalogs

  • FAOSTAT. Food Quality Control. (http://faostat3.fao.org/faostat-gateway/go/to/home/E). Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations.
    The FAOSTAT collection of statistical databases provides access to production, trade, and other international agricultural statistics. The Food Quality section allows one to search Codex Alimentarius: Pesticide Residues in Food and Codex Alimentarius: Veterinary Drug Residues in Food.
  • National Food Safety Database (http://foodsafety.ifas.ufl.edu/)
    The goal of the National Food Safety Database project is to develop an efficient management system of US food safety databases that are used by the Cooperative Extension Service (CES), consumers, industry, and other public health organizations. The end result of such a management program is a highly informative, efficient and accurate website which will provide one-stop shopping for food safety information.
  • Thomas Register of American Manufacturers.
    An online version of the printed trade catalog. Complete the free membership form to search for manufacturers of industrial products and services.

    (Note: the print version of the Thomas Register is located in the Business Alcove in the D. H. Hill Reference area (call number T12.T6).)

Full Text Resources

To find other Web sites, click on Netscape's Search button and use one of the many available search engines. For searching tips and comparisons of the features of various search engines, see:

For examples showing how to cite Internet resources, see Citing Electronic Resources from the Internet Public Library.