Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: NUTRITION

Reference Sources
Literature Guides
Encyclopedias
Dictionaries
Handbooks
Food Composition and Nutrition Tables

Finding Journal Articles

Print Indexes and Abstracts

Finding Books

U.S. Government Information and U.S. Patents

Nutrition Information on the Internet
Internet Gateways and General Guides
Government Agencies
Cooperative Extension
Organizations and Nutrition Departments
Research Grants and Projects
Other Databases and Trade Catalogs
Full Text Resources

Nutrition: Finding Books

Locate books by searching the NCSU Libraries catalog. You can search for books by author, title, subject, and keyword.

Standardized subject headings are used for subject searches. For example, to find books about nutrition, use the following subject headings:

Animal nutrition   Diet
Nutrition   Diet -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
    Diet -- United States
Athletes -- Nutrition   Dietetics
Children -- Nutrition    
Beef cattle -- Nutrition   Food -- Analysis
Swine -- Nutrition   Food -- Composition
    Food -- Labeling -- United States
North Carolina State University -- Theses -- Nutrition   Food -- Microbiology
  etc.  

You can also search for more specific subjects. For example:

Carbohydrates   Lipids -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Carbohydrates -- Metabolism   Lipids in human nutrition
Dietary supplements   Minerals in animal nutrition
Drug-nutrient interactions   Sugars in human nutrition
Enzymes   Vegetables
Food poisoning   Vitamins in animal nutrition
Lipids   Vitamins in human nutrition

If you know the title of a relevant book, you can search this title in the online catalog, look at the subject headings used to index it, and then search those subject headings for related books on the topic.

If the NCSU Libraries does not have the book or journal that you need, you can do one of the following:

  1. Use the TRIPSaver/Interlibrary Loan service. (Ask at the Reference Desk for assistance.) TRIPSaver provides books and photocopies of articles from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (UNC-CH), Duke University, and North Carolina Central University (NCCU), usually within 2-3 days. If the item is not available through TRIPSaver, Interlibrary Services will attempt to find the item from another participating library.

    Printed journal article and book request forms for Interlibrary Loan/TRIPSaver are at the D. H. Hill Library Reference Desk and the branch libraries.
    An electronic version of the forms is available from the NCSU Libraries Web page.

  2. Check out books from Duke, NCCU, or UNC-Chapel Hill.

    NCSU students, faculty, and staff are eligible for borrowing privileges at the libraries of three other major universities in the Triangle--Duke University, NC Central University, and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, all members of the Triangle Research Libraries Network. A valid NCSU ID is required to establish privileges when visiting another TRLN library. You may also be asked to access profile information in your NCSU library account (i.e.,"My Borrowing Record") using a PIN number. The list of participating libraries and information such as hours of operation, directions, and circulation policies is available on the TRLN web site. It is best to check this page for the policies of the library you are visiting before making a trip there.


Librarian Contact Information

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University