OLDER Newspapers (BEFORE 1980)
Online Access
Many databases provide full-text articles from the 1980s to the present, but online access before about 1980 is more rare. NCSU Libraries provides access to 2 databases that might meet your needs:
- New York Times (1851-2003) via ProQuest Historical Newspapers
- Accessible Archives: The Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800), The Liberator (1831-1865), African American Newspapers: The 19th Century, and The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective.
Newspapers in Microform
- Look up a specific newspaper in the catalog to
see if the Libraries has it in paper or microform.
Or see lists of newspapers in Microforms.
- If the
Libraries does not have your newspaper in any format, you may request articles
through TRIPSaver/Interlibrary Loan.
Newspaper Indexes
It is one thing to find older newspapers (e.g., discovering that the Libraries has The New York Times from 1969), but if you need to find articles on a topic (e.g., the Apollo moon mission), you'll want to find an index that tells you which dates and page numbers in The New York Times on which to find those articles.
The 3 newspapers below are ones for which D. H. Hill has both the newspaper itself and indexes over long periods of time.
- New York Times
- Times (London)
- News & Observer -- see details.
If you want to find an index to a newspaper not listed above, Ask a Librarian.
NCSU Libraries has a few other newspaper indexes, but they are not as long-running
as those above. If you need an index we don't have, we can try to get you
in touch with a library that has it.
|