Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: NC LEGAL RESOURCES GUIDE

Getting Started

Primary Sources
Constitution
Statutes
Administrative Rules and Regulations
Court Reports

Secondary Sources
Legal Dictionaries
Legal Encyclopedias
Legal Journals
Legal Journal Indexes
Books on Legal Topics
Other Sources

Additional Information

North Carolina Legal Resources Guide

Primary Sources

Statutes

A statute is a written law enacted by the North Carolina General Assembly. Statutes can be organized by the date of passage (called session laws), or can be grouped together by subject in a code.

Session Laws of North Carolina, 1893 to date
D. H. Hill Stacks KFN7425 .A243 (5th floor, Tower Stacks)
Each volume is a chronological compilation of laws and reolutions passed by the General Assembly and executive orders issued by the Governor during a legislative session. It is published several months after the session ends and includes a subject index and bill number index.
Cite as: 1990 N.C. Sess. Laws 431

General Statutes of North Carolina, v. 1-23
D. H. Hill Reference KFN7430 1943 .A24 (Reference - 1st Floor - East Wing)
This set is considered a "code" or subject arrangement of laws. Each section includes references to court decisions and legal periodical articles which discuss the section. It is updated at the end of each legislative session. The set includes subject, agency, and popular name indexes.
Cite as: N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-1367 (1990)

School of Government Library, UNC-CH
NCSU's Information System
The School of Government is the largest and most diversified of the university-based governmental training and research organizations in the United States. Its web site is a rich source of state, county, and local governmental information, including the status and content of North Carolina legislation. The Legislative Reporting Service provides the only comprehensive source of daily information on the activities of the North Carolina General Assembly.

General Statutes of North Carolina Annotated
NCSU's Information System; restricted use via remote access.
Go to this LexisNexis Academic link; there place a check mark beside "NC - General Statutes of North Carolina Annotated." Then click the tan Search tab to the left of the Browse tab.

Librarian Contact Information

No results.
NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University