Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: NASA

Overview of the Collection

Finding Reports with Citations

Databases & Indexes

Paper Reports

Using NTRS

Using NTIS

NASA Technical Reports

I have the citation - how do I find the complete report?

1915-1958 NACA reports

NACA reports are available online, via the NACA report server

To retrieve the fiche instead, you need individual report series numbers.

If your citation lists report numbers that look similar to the examples below, you can go directly to the Microforms Room to obtain your report.

  • NACA TN-159, September, 1923
  • NACA RM E52H12, Sep 1952

1959-1966 NASA Reports

We have only a selection of reports from these years, in fiche and paper.

In the microfiche collection, reports are shelved by report number and the extent of the fiche collection is as follows:

· Special Publications SP-1 through SP-45
· Technical Reports TR R-1 through TR R-186
· Reports RE 11-21-58W through RE 5-1-59W
· Technical Translations TT F-1 through TT F-190
· Memoranda MEMO 10-1-58A through MEMO 12-31-58L
· Memoranda MEMO 1-2-59E through MEMO 7-9-59A
· Technical Note TN D-1 through TN D-1-61

You may also check the U.S. documents collection to see if we have the reports in paper. See Reports in Hard Copy.

1966-1996 NASA report series

  • Some reports may be available in paper -- see Reports in Hard Copy.

  • Later years may be online via NTRS.

  • We have nearly all reports in fiche.
  • For the fiche copies, you need to identify a report number that corresponds to the way these fiche are shelved in the NCSU Libraries. If your citation gives a NASA report number, use the NTIS database to get the "n" number.

    Reports from 1966 into 1996 are shelved with "n" accessions numbers:
    N66-26050 to N96-20116

    See Using NTIS to find "n" numbers.

1996-2002 NASA report series

Some reports may be available in paper -- see Reports in Hard Copy.

Later years may be online via NTRS. We have nearly all reports in fiche.

For the fiche copies, you need to identify a report number that corresponds to the way these fiche are shelved in our library. If your citation gives a NASA report number, use the NTIS database to get the ID number you need.

    Reports from 1996 through 2002 are shelved by ID number:
    19960014640 to 20020094392

See Using NTRS to find document ID numbers<

2003 to present CD-ROM collection titled "NASA Research on CD-ROM"

Some fulltext reports are online via NTRS . See Using NTRS.

If not, we have these publications in CD-ROM format. You need the Document ID number to access the reports. See Using NTRS.

  • After getting the Document ID number, ask for the report at the D.H. Hill Reference Desk and the appropriate CD-ROM will be retrieved from the US Documents CD cabinet.
  • They can be used in-house or checked out.
  • The earliest report on CD-ROM has Doc ID #200300437.

null Top of Page

Librarian Contact Information

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University