Middle East Studies Subject Guide
Religions and Ethnic Groups
The middle east includes a wide range of religious and ethnic groups, including:
- Muslims
- Jews
- Christians
- Druze
- Kurds
- Turks
Reference Works for Exploring Religions and Ethnic Groups
Encyclopedia of Religion
D.H. Hill Reference BL31 .E46 2005
Comprehensive, scholarly reference work covering the field of religion worldwide. Includes articles on
Christianity in the Middle East (v. 3, p. 1672 ff.) and the Druze (v. 4, p. 2502 ff.)
Atlas of the World's Religions
D.H. Hill Reference BL80.2 .A84 1999
Maps depicting the movement of religious groups through place and time.
Countries and Their Cultures
D.H. Hill Reference GN307 .C68 2001
Look up a country, and find detailed information about life of cultural groups within that country.
Encyclopaedia Judaica
D.H. Hill Reference Oversized DS102.8 .E5
Scholarly encyclopedia covering Judaism
Historical Atlas of Jerusalem
D.H. Hill Reference DS109.9 .B455 2002
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
D.H. Hill Reference BP40 .E525
This encyclopedia looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Contains thematic articles, biographies of key figures,
definitions, illustrations, maps and more.
The Encyclopaedia of Islam
D.H. Hill Reference DS37 .E523
Scholarly encyclopedia covering Islam
A Concise Encyclopedia of Ilsam
D.H. Hill Reference BP40 .N49 2002
Aimed at those studying Islam as a religion. It provides
scholarly definitions of terms, a detailed chronology, and a bibliography. The author,
Gordon Newby, is professor of Middle Eastern Studies at Emory, and a former member of the
History Department at NCSU.
Historical Atlas of Islam
D.H. Hill Reference G1786 .S1 R9 2004
Encyclopedia Iranica
Multi-disciplinary reference work and research tool designed to record the facts of Iranian history
and civilization.
Indexes to Articles
ATLA Religion Database
Index to scholarly articles in the academic field of religion. Database goes back to 1949.
Index Islamicus
A bibliography of books and index of articles in periodicals on Islam and the Muslim world. Also includes reviews. Index goes back to 1906.
Related NCSU Libraries Subject Guide
Islam and the Muslim World
For more in-depth guidance on finding information about Islam, explore this related subject guide.
Librarian Contact Information
|