The countries included in this region are:

  • Bahrain
  • Egypt
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Israel/West Bank/Gaza Strip
  • Jordan
  • Kuwait
  • Lebanon
  • Oman
  • Qatar
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Syria
  • Turkey
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Yemen

Reference Sources

The Essential Middle East D.H. Hill Ref. DS43 .H57 2003
Alphabetical reference work with balanced information on a wide range of topics, including country profiles, politics, history, and many special topics relating to the middle east.

The Middle East: A Political Dictionary
D.H. Hill Ref. DS61 .Z58 1992
Entries are organized in the following sections: Political geography and geopolitics, Islam, Ethnicity and political culture, Political parties and movements, Israelis and Palestinians, Diplomacy, and Conflict. Each entry is followed by a “Significance” section to help the reader evaluate the information presented.

A Survey of Arab-Israeli Relations: 1947-2001
D.H. Hill Ref. DS119.7 .S93 2002
Presents a detailed chronology of events relating to the Arab-Israeli starting at the end of the British Mandate period. Includes scholarly essays, as well as key documents, treaties, and agreements.

The Middle East and North Africa
D.H. Hill Ref. DS49 .M5
Published annually, these volumes present detailed country surveys, presenting up to date information on the geography, history, and economy of each country, along with financial statistical data and directories of government officials.

Encyclopedia of World Geography (v. 15 covers the Middle East)
D.H. Hill Ref. G133 .E48 1995
Nicely illustrated volume approaching the middle east from a geographical perspective. In addition to entries describing each country, there are regional sections devoted to physical geography, habitats, plant and animal life, agriculture, industry, enconomy, peoples and culture, cities, government, and environmental issues.

Atlas of the Middle East
D.H. Hill Ref. G2205 .N38 2003
National Geopgraphic Society atlas with maps of each country, along with basic descriptive information.

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
D.H. Hill Reference BP40 .E525
This encyclopedia looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Contains thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more.

Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World
D.H. Hill Reference DS35.53 .O95 1995
Focuses on period from the end of the 18th century to the present throughout the world. Also covers movements and parties within Islam.


Websites

MENIC: The Middle East Information Network Information Center
Sponsored by The Center for Middle Eastern Studies at the University of Texas at Austin.

Middle East Information Network American organization based in Boston, MA that seeks to provide non-partisan, accurate and comprehensive information about the Middle East.

Israeli-Palestinian Conflict Internet Resources
Sponsored by Duke University Libraries.


Indexes to Articles

Historical Abstracts
Index to scholarly articles in history journals, covering the historical period from 1450 to present. Includes abstracts. Database goes back to 1967.

Bibliography of Asian Studies
Index to articles in periodicals pertaining to east, southeast, and south Asia. The "Browse by Country" feature allows you to browse for articles on different topics for specific countries.

PAIS International
Index to information in public and social policy, political science, international relations, law, public administration, and government. In addition to journal articles, this database also provides access to some government documents and statistical materials. Database goes back to 1976.

Index Islamicus
A bibliography of books and index of articles in periodicals on Islam and the Muslim world. Also includes reviews. Index goes back to 1906.