|
Home: Medicine and Health
Reference
Electronic Databases
Statistics and Data
Web Sites
|
Medicine and Health Subject Guide
Web Sites
Internet Gateways and General Guides
-
Entrez (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/Entrez)
A life sciences search engine, Entrez is "the integrated,
text-based search and retrieval system used at NCBI for the major
databases, including PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences,
Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, and others."
A search across databases includes full text access to a collection
of online biomedical books on "The Bookshelf," as well
as free, full text journal articles via PubMed Central.
- healthfinder®
(http://www.healthfinder.gov) (en
Español)
"An award-winning Federal Web site for consumers, developed
by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services together with
other Federal agencies. Since 1997, healthfinder® has been
recognized as a key resource for finding the best government and
nonprofit health and human services information on the Internet.
healthfinder® links to carefully selected information and
Web sites from over 1,700 health-related organizations."
- MedlinePlus
(http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/) (en
Español)
Health information for health professionals and consumers from
the National Library of Medicine. "MedlinePlus has extensive
information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted
sources on over 650 diseases and conditions. There are also lists
of hospitals and physicians, a medical
encyclopedia and a medical
dictionary, health information in Spanish, extensive information
on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information
from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials."
Updated daily.
Government Agencies
Other Organizations
Librarian Contact Information
|