Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: Medicine and Health

Reference

Electronic Databases

Statistics and Data

Web Sites

Medicine and Health Subject Guide

Reference

Guides to the Literature

  • Introduction to Reference Sources in the Health Sciences. 3rd ed. Roper, Fred W., and Jo Anne Boorkman. 1994.
    D. H. Hill Ref R118.6 .I54 1994

Encyclopedias

  • Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine. Krapp, Kristine, and Jacqueline L. Longe, editors. 2001. 4 volumes.
    D. H. Hill Ref R733 .G34 2001
    Also available online as an electronic book (see catalog record)

  • Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine. 2nd ed. Longe, Jacqueline L., ed. 2002. 5 volumes.
    D. H. Hill Ref RC41 .G35 2002
    Also available online as an electronic book (see catalog record)

  • Encyclopedia of Public Health. Breslow, Lester, ed. 2002. 4 volumes.
    D. H. Hill Ref RA423 .E53 2002
    Also available online as an electronic book (see catalog record)

Dictionaries

  • Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations (from xrefer plus). 4th ed. 2001.

  • Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary (from xrefer plus). 30th ed. 2003.
    Also available in D. H. Hill Ref R121 .D73 2003

  • Medical Abbreviations & Eponyms. 2nd ed. Sloane, Sheila B. 1997.
    D. H. Hill Ref R123 .S569 1997

  • PDR Medical Dictionary. 2nd ed. 2000.
    D. H. Hill Ref R121 .P37 2000

  • Stedman's Medical Dictionary. 27th ed. 2000.
    D. H. Hill Ref R121 .S8 2000, Vet Med Ref R121 .S8 2000

Handbooks

  • Merck Manual of Medical Information: Home Edition. 2nd ed. 2003.
    D. H. Hill Ref Desk RC81 .A1 M535 2003
    Also available as a free Internet resource. Connect to the site.

  • Physicians' Desk Reference. 58th ed. 2004.
    D. H. Hill Ref. Desk RS75 .P5 ed.58 2004, Vet Med Ref RS75 .P5 ed.58 2004

Directories

  • Encyclopedia of Medical Organizations and Agencies. 11th ed. Gale Research Co. 2001.
    D. H. Hill Ref R712.A1 E53 -- Note: Earlier volumes in Hill bookstacks

    "A subject guide to medical societies, professional and voluntary associations, foundations, research institutes, federal and state agencies, medical and allied health schools, information centers, data base services, and related health care organizations"

  • Medical and Health Information Directory. 15th ed. 2003. 3 volumes.
    D. H. Hill Ref R118.4 .U6 M37 ed.15 2003

    Volume 1: Organizations, Agencies, and Institutions. Volume 2: Publications, Libraries, and Other Information Resources. Volume 3: Health Services.

  • Official ABMS Directory of Board Certified Medical Specialists. 36th ed. 2004. 4 volumes.
    D. H. Hill Ref R712 .A1 O335 ed.36 2004

Librarian Contact Information

NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University