|
Home: Medicine and Health
Reference
Electronic Databases
Statistics and Data
Web Sites
|
Medicine and Health Subject Guide
Electronic Databases
- CINAHL
(Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature)
Covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship,
alternative complementary medicine, consumer health, and 17
allied health disciplines, and contains indexing and abstracts
for over 1,700 current nursing and allied health journals
and other publications. Some full text. Coverage: 1982-present.
- Health
Source--Consumer Edition (formerly known as Health Source
Plus)
Access to nearly 300 full text, consumer health (including
nutrition) periodicals; indexing and abstracts for more than
300 periodicals. Also includes searchable full text for nearly
1,100 health-related pamphlets and 146 health reference books,
including Stedman's Medical Dictionary. "In
addition, this database includes Clinical Pharmacology, which
provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant
drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find
herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products
and new drugs." Coverage: Indexing, 1984-; Full Text,
1985-.
- Health
Source--Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides more than 550 scholarly full text journals focusing
on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and
indexing for over 800 journals. "Includes Clinical Pharmacology,
which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically
relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs,
hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter
products and new drugs." Full text information in this
database dates as far back as 1975.
- MEDLINE
Primary index of the biomedical literature including human
nutrition. Coverage is 1966 to present.
- MEDLINE
via Cambridge Scientific Abstracts. Coverage: 1993 - present.
Updated: monthly.
- MEDLINE via
PubMed. Coverage: 1966 - present. Updated weekly.
"PubMed also provides access and links to the integrated
molecular biology databases included in NCBI's Entrez retrieval
system. These databases contain DNA and protein sequences, 3-D
protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies
of complete genomes in an integrated system."
Use the
PubMed Journal Browser to look up journal names, MEDLINE
abbreviations, or ISSN numbers for journals that are included
in the PubMed system.
- Science
Citation Index Expanded (via Web of Science. NCSU only)
A multidisciplinary database that covers 3,330 major journals
across 100 scientific disciplines. Indexes cited references
of the articles in the database so you can search by cited author,
cited patent or cited paper. This allows you to trace a particular
research topic in the scientific literature. Coverage: 1945-
present. Updated weekly.
For a list of other databases covering related or narrower
subject areas, select Human
Medicine from the NCSU Libraries Database Finder.
Librarian Contact Information
|